Poem written for my sister who passed away on her 19th birthday.

in #poetry8 years ago

My Reflection

I looked in the mirror today;
I didn't see my reflection, I saw yours.

Your hazel eyes took over my green eyes.
Your long thick hair overpowered my fine delicate hair.

Your natural beauty conquered my makeup infused face.

I've seen you more today then I did yesterday.
Your spirit is inside of me teaching my heart how to be strong.

Now every time I want to see you my sweet angel: I look in the mirror & I see you sister, your beauty is glowing back at me.

2012 ~written for Valerie Craig, Feb12/83 - Feb12/02

Sort:  

In my career, I deal with death very frequently. It is always dealt very objectively...so as to not start tearing up - I might have to smile in the next room down! And I feel less human because I have to keep my emotions in control. Thank you for reminding me that i am human.

That's very nice to hear that my poem could do that for you. Thank you ☺️

May her soul be in rest there in heaven and with you forever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28