#1 Poem about forgetting

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians!
I am brand new to this wonderful community. I know that I should post an 'Introduce yourself' post first, but I am extremely shy. The idea of posting a picture of myself for the world to see is frightening. Therefore, I will put it off for a little while longer. But for now, enjoy this little semi-sad poem about forgetting.


Being Bilingual Forgetting Language.jpg
Image Source

"Memory... is the diary that we all carry about with us." –Oscar Wilde

Memory is what allows us to relive the past and store our favourite moments in life. How is a person supposed to deal with suddenly being robbed of the ability to remember? This poem is about the struggle to remember, the bitterness of forgetting and the inability to move forward.

If there is no past, how can there be a future?


I felt a memory stuck in my head,
It kept nagging, nagging, til', into darkness, it faded away.

Busy nights, busier days,
I move here and there
Picking at my brain.

A flash, then darkness.
At the speed of light,
You come and go.
Oh memory, don't you love me so?

Be, as it may,
Behind these walls – locked away.
Never to be forgotten, as we say.

Does it ring a bell?
Or are bells ringing?
Which of the two should I be hearing?

Is it time? Where am I going?
I'd rather stay but the others are coming.
Fighting, brawling, just to be at the top of your head.

Distractions! Distractions!
It's getting crowded. I cannot stay.

Farewell my friend. Farewell!
Whilst I may not be in yours,
You'll forever be...
In my memories.


On a brighter note, Happy New Year Steemians!

Sort:  

Don't sweat the introduce yourself post, lol. This poem was a great introduction in itself. Btw, I am a curator with @ocd and would love to nominate your post.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.

Hi! Thanks mk40, it'd be awesome if you could nominate this post! The more people read it the better :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67698.91
ETH 3266.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64