#3 Poem about depression

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


source

'Depression is the inability to construct a future.' –Rollo May

Hello dear Steemians!

Depression is a horrible mental disorder that unfortunately many people encounter. It can take over a person's life and change is for the worst. More often than not, it takes years for a person to realise that they're suffering from depression and even when it doesn't it still feels like they've been suffering for years. It puts a stop to a person's life hindering them from carrying out their day to day tasks and simply just living life.

As my own little way of helping create more awareness, I decided to write a little poem. I hope you enjoy :)


A bunch of demons came to pick me up,
They kept beeping, beeping,
Till I joined the club.

Yet again? I'm really tired,
If I don't sleep tonight,
I'll surely get fired.

Nonsense, they said.
You have to stay
What difference does it make?
They all hate you anyway.

With some hesitation, I climbed inside
and off we went on this forsaken night.

We drove passed my old school– where I last saw my friends
We passed the cute little green park
where I used to spend my weekends.

At the speed of light,
we sped passed my life,
and before I knew it
It was the end of the night.

Kidnapped by my demons,
They committed yet another crime.
The ransom is too high,
Can’t afford to waste anymore time.

One life, nine lives.
Unless you're a cat,
you only get one ride.

Goodbye demons,
See you tomorrow night
As you will surely come back beeping
Seeking another fight.


Thanks for reading Steemians!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lelegend to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35