Indie Pendant Shhh Day!

in #poetry7 years ago


==12 or more hours earlier==

So I'm sitting here this morning, saying to myself "I really need to post on Steemit."

"What are you going to post?"

"Poetry? Maybe poetry,that was always fun, yeah poems..."

I lost my miniscule collection of that which I wrote in my HS days to flood, you know, those days when "head of the class" was a position you loved the thought of, but once you received that recognition, felt all the less interested in it, particularly when the bullying from the jocks began.... yeah those.

Not that it mattered really.  I had studied Tae Kwon Do the year before with my younger "Brothers G", two of them anyway.  Started wearing contacts instead of glasses that year and had gained a good 10-15 pounds of muscle over the summer, so I wasn't so nervous anymore.

Mrs. Meyers... I'll never forget her, my 10th-11th grade Creative English teacher.  She loved that I always sat in the front row, like I had thru 3 years of Jr. High and 1/2 or most of my Elementary years.  Whenever I sat in the back of the class, I only got into trouble.  But I digress, Mrs. Meyers was a sweet soul, probably twice my age at that time, lovely crooked smile and innocence that made her give in to the bullish types in the room.  But she was very creative indeed.

She taught me much more about the creative process than about the critical structure of writing.  It was the first time, so it seemed, that I was able to just let go and write.  This allowed me to do many crazy poems, vicious diatribes, one-off fictional short stories and other literary nonsense.  But it was fun.

Today I wanted to reminisce in those moments and just write something off the wall.  And I DID!  I laughed.
I had created something from nothing that made me have an emotional response about myself.  Very cool.

But, then tradgedy struck...

As I was still basking in my glory, (because not only had the writing that just emerged create such a knot in my belly, but I had just located the perfect image to put beside it), I remembered I had to connect with someone on one of those other social media channels, so I sped over to chat.

I was having trouble locating the editor for my post because I had started in markdown. So I cut the text from the editor, (yes I know some of you already get it), and proceeded to answer the chat I had initiated.  But of course, when one is doing one thing and can't focus on another, we just go to Appear.in and hang out.  Sooooo....

For some bum-fuck reason I copy the text in the URL to send to my friend to meet my in the video chat room.....

Duh.

*Poof*

...are you feeling me now?

The lovely poem had vanished.

...and it was soooo goood.  Uggh.

Sorry y'all had to miss it.  If it ever comes back to my neck of the woods, or even anywhere above my neck... I'll be sure to let you know.

Until next time,

Ciao... call coming in from Milan!

Sort:  

hoops
I could not explain why but I always actually write the poems on paper first. So next time people ask me why I'll tell - "well look what happened to Leland's poem!".
Sorry it's lost...

haha...this really did make me laugh out loud!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44