'Mantra' - an Original Poem

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Mantra


“prettiest things could sour
 when the seasons change;
 sh*t don’t smell like flowers,
 sunshine turns to rain”

           Andrew Ashong

                      ~

whether there’s forms of mantras
fit to seal our fate;
speak them as the answer,
write them on the page.

troubling urge for reason
chips away your frame;
need not be so restless,
need not seek to name.

cyclical swings of nature
blind as time and space;
rabbits graze the parkland,
foxes take the bait.

synchronous ways to love you
each the other’s bane;
one has us not speaking -
one, the full embrace.


       @lazarus-wist


                   Image

Sort:  

The intro line is powerful

Prettiest things could sour
When the seasons change

Very powerful intro to a piece centered on reality. I really enjoyed your poems. Keep writing!!

Those aren't actually my words, they're borrowed from Andrew Ashong's song which I link below them. Thanks anyway though ahah.

Yeah... I know, you used it and referenced the source.
You used it to introduce your piece,thats why I wrote your intro . Anyway, I've changed it

Fate is what it is no matter what it looks like right now. Nice. I like the cadence throughtout the lines, lazarus-wist :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71