The last poem I wrote

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

New Year's Eve

There is a knife that cuts deep
every time the skies tremble
and the air thickens with the ash
of cloudy withering flowers
in the night sky
December 31, 2015. 1:20 AM;
my grandmother's body
gave up

My thoughts on this poem:

  1. I think that first line is already cliche. The "knife the cuts" metaphor has been used many times and shows that I am not sure about what the persona I've created in the poem is actually feeling.

  2. In the second line, I attempted to highlight the chaos the persona feels by focusing on the physical feeling of the sound the persona hears in the environment the persona is in.

  3. In the third and fourth line, I tried to emphasize the feeling of longing and loss of the persona by expressing them in terms of the atmosphere the persona experiences.

  4. I emphasized night time to express that even against the fireworks, the persona is still sad.

  5. The sixth line is, what I think, the downfall of this poem. Explicitly saying the date and time means that I have failed to use the most powerful aspect of the poem: conveying message through images.

  6. I tried to close the poem by showing why the persona feels as such.

I have not written for a long time and I would like to start again by improving this single verse poetry. Steemit community, please help me improve it :D

Sort:  

Congratulations @laphysique! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29