Ode to Sofia (Farewell My Love)

in #poetry8 years ago


credit - wikipedia - a shot of Bulevard Tsar Osvoboditel near Knyazeshka Garden, near the Sofia University

Ode to Sofia (Farewell my love)

I leave Sofia tomorrow,
After 2 years inside her,
With her hot and cold seasons,
And her dessicant winds...

I will miss you dear Lady,
Though not very much,
You gave me comfort for a time,
In your cold dusty tunnels.

More generous than Budapest,
Kinder than Bucharest,
More welcome than a slap,
But less than kiss.

Lady Sofia, I will miss you,
And your delicious mounds,
To the South on your borders,
And the smooth plains to your East.

For tomorrow I depart,
To the lowlands East,
Where I will start a new love,
with Lady Plovdiv, your old sister

I may sometimes return,
For business with your bureaucrats,
But I will not miss you,
It is time to move on.



We can't stop here! This is Whale country!

Sort:  

My favorite verse: "I may sometimes return,
For business with your bureaucrats,
But I will not miss you,
It is time to move on."

-- @develcuy

I was going to hold off on posting it until tomorrow, but the imagery was flooding my head so I had to put it out there :)

I See!
That's Cool!
Steem On!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44