Dreams - Original Poetry for Steemit

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

At 7 I dreamed of being a vet,
I'd save all the injured animals I could
I'd own a massive farm and fill it
with as many animals as I could
and this would be my life.


At 13 I dreamed of travelling to Africa,
I'd study the big cats
I'd advocate on their behalf and
stop illegal poaching of these beautiful animals.
and this would be my life.


At 17 I dreamed of graduating High School
I'd go to uni and become a vet
the first in many steps to reaching my dream
I just had to follow the rules and I'd get there
and this would be my life.


At 20 I dreamed of finding a job
so I could afford to pay rent just to live
uni would have to wait,
I'd settle for tafe for now but uni is the end goal
and this would be my life.


At 25 I dreamed the little girl I carried
would be happy and healthy,
I'd do anything for her
she was now my whole world
and this would be my life.


At 26 I dreamed my little girl would keep breathing through the night
only a year old with whooping cough
her tiny body struggled to breath
I would hold her day and night so she wasn't struggling for air alone
and this would be my life.


At 27 I dreamed my little girl would continue stay healthy
as we welcomed her little brother into the world,
our family was growing and the light seemed to shine again
we would have two happy and healthy babies and that's all that matters
and this would be my life.


At 28 I dreamed I'd hear both my babies talk,
she hadn't spoken since she was sick and he just never started
Autism isn't a death sentence we can work through this
I'd become their teacher and do whatever it takes to help them
and this would be my life.


At 29 I dreamed our life savings would last long enough to put them through their much needed therapy
we'd go without and sacrifice,
I'd drive a crappy car that breaks down all the time
as long as they were getting all the help they needed it would be worth it
and this would be my life.


At 30 I dreamed of owning better things to sell,
I'd sell my clothes dryer, my jewelery anything of value
I'd swallow my pride and ask charities for help
I'd humbly accept their much needed support and my kids wouldn't go without
and this would be my life.


At 31 I dreamed that my kids would continue speaking their first words,
I'd spend hours repeating the same phrase and sometimes they'd say it back
I'd rejoice at their major progress and start to see some light at the end of the tunnel
all our hard work and sacrifice was paying of
and this would be my life.


At 32 I dream that this year my kids will start talking more,
that they will be happy and healthy,
that this year won't be as hard as the ones that came before
that whilst we still have a long way to go we recognise how far we have come
and this will be my life.


In the future I dream that my kids will grow to be happy, healthy and capable people
I dream that we will overcome any obstacle we face because we have already overcome far worse
I dream that the day will come when we are back on our feet financially but know the sacrifice was well worth it
and for me I dream one day to write a story that feels as real as mine

And this will be my life!


Like what you've read so far?

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines

Sort:  

Very moving- thank you for sharing- prosperity energy sent your way : )

Thanks for your kind words and intentions I appreciate it :)

This is incredibly moving! It brought tears to my eyes. Stay strong.

Yeah I have to say I had a bit of teary just writing it, it's hard to look back on the tough times sometimes.

But always important to acknowledge what you've been through , thanks for the lovely comment :)

This is fantastic krystle a poetic dream of ones life timeline amazing. upped

Thanks so much :D not a complete picture just showing how dreams and lives change, from what we imagined they would be.

@krystle -- this is a very moving post. Thank you for the ride on your challenging journey. Sometimes our life's blessings come in ways we could have never imagined. It sounds like the connection you have with your children may potentially be even more profound then others who have experienced a less intense journey. Sending you love and support, and grateful to have a taste of your word today.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.47 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59410.96
ETH 2658.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43