The spotlight

in #poetry6 years ago

image.jpg


What a cruel world to face on your own
She's surrounded by many yet still all alone
She dances until all of the lights come on
Even though she sees that everyone is gone

Selling her self worth to make ends meet
Roaming around on the cold dark street
Her skin milky white just like paste
Smoke filled lungs leaving a bitter taste

Running after that high shes chased
A soul with potential just going to waste
It's just the same old story night after night
Removing her clothing in the spotlight

All of the men stood around her lurking
Shouting bend down girl and get to working
As she danced on them she began to cry
Now I believe I won't ever leave even if I try

They laughed saying don't hate just appreciate
It's not our fault that this is your sorry fate
Though it continues to add to her demise
She continues dancing for all of those guys

As long as she finds that high every night
She'll dance under the spotlight

image.jpg



Wishing you all love, peace, and happiness

image.jpg

Love Always,

KristaN

Sort:  

Wow !

Sounds like everyday life for too many ladies of the night...
Great poem, very well written, thank you for sharing. =)

Thank you sir 😊

Hey @kristyyd, if you want to, check out my latest post, I have some problems with discord, or discord has problems with me... Not sure in what order...😊

It's awesome dear!😁

Very powerful, albeit a sad story.

It made me think of The Police's Roxanne and one of my favorite movies: John Cassavetes' The Killing of a Chinese Bookie (1976). If you ever get the chance to check out that film, watch it ;>)

Thank YA Vincent 😁😋will do 💝

Wow, this was heavy. I was totally sucked into the flow and felt my heart tightening. Great work.

You're a sweetie thanks 💞😁

Damn...this one was so sad...hopefully your fictional dancer character finds her peace someday.

Thanks my dude 😁😘

Wow that was intense. Really sad but you captured the emotion of it really well.

Thanks bud 😋💕

This is so sad. Unfortunately often true.
Yet you turned it into a well-paced powerful poem.
Your image selection was spot on, too.

steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica
stop by my blog and check out some stories, haven't heard from you for a while

Why thank you joe😊

Wow, this is deep.

I really like your writing style. I've never been great at writing poetry myself, but I would love to learn. Maybe I can learn a thing or two from you about storytelling :)

Following you for more, keep up the amazing work!

Awww yay you're here! Thanks for coming by and reading and maybe you'll enjoy the philosophy writing too 😁😊 can't wait to share more 💕💕

i keep my word when I say I'm going to do something! :D I do enjoy writing deeper stuff, even though my content is mostly gaming, as there's always a lesson to be learned and shared.

Can't wait for your next one! Keep it up :)

This is an amazing post! can be a start to an amazing super hero movie i feel. Be it a superhero with super powers or a super hero that we aspire to be! Thanks for creating such excellent content!

That's a really good idea 😊thank u!

haha If it ever is made into a movie, I can be the asian sidekick xD but dont kill me off please hahaha!

Your poem brings attention to all of those people that go through what is said just to make ends meet.

I love what you do, you are a amazing strong person! <3

Awww 😊 thank you my dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22