True Love- Poem

in #poetry6 years ago

My Story

Throughout my life I was often times in conflict with the ideas of love that didn't correspond with mine. It made me question, a universal feeling so powerful that it can transcend time & space though our understanding & contemplations of it differ so much? But one thing we can all agree on, and thats how love makes us all feel. Happy. Content. Grateful. Energetic. Peaceful. Brave. Heroic...No, maybe not the last one, but you get the point. They are powerful and healing to the mind.
So if love differs so much between us, is it even love that some of us are experiencing? If there is a universal idea of love, what would it be? A question that I knew would be hard to answer. Years passed, my understanding of love kept changing, though a new lesson was always to be learned from them. Not until I have gotten my heart broken into ∞ pieces, have I truly felt what love really is. How can I be certain? Well, all I can say to that is; sometimes there are these truths in life we discover that we just intuitively know to be true. For that I have written a short poem.
I hope you enjoy it.

If you truly loved yourself, you could never hurt another.
-Buddha.

black-and-white-color-splash-fountain-pen-261749.jpg

With every moment we get to express,
We do love & abundance only in our own interest

Love's real mission on the other side
Is unselfish & carries no pride

So let's make unconditional love our mission
A world to be changed, our vision

Ask yourself, what is love really about?
I tell you, it starts way back in our family house

Definitions, definitions, us just looking for an answer
Eating us up from the inside like cancer

Learn this, learn that, in school they say this is an important fact
But loving ourselves was never on the list, what a trap

Externally looking for the love we call complete
Never realizing we carry it with our own feet

So don't be scared, look inward
And what you will find
Is a you that is divine.

I am somewhat new to this platform and I'm still getting used to the formate commands! If you got any tips & tricks I'll highly appreciate them!

i lā maikaʻi

Sort:  

Congratulations @kriskrumov! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kriskrumov! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61