POETRY SLAM CONTEST --- My decision making process

in #poetry6 years ago

DSC_9026 (2).jpg

With every ink that gives way to words
To the paper that gets soiled in thoughts
I always find a way to get across to you
The musings of my inner mind

For lack of pictures and artistic images
My words unclog your mind's eye and give you sight
To pure imagery that has no rivalry
Leaving lasting impressions engraved on your soul

So should you digest or choose to taste
My spiced culinary efforts
Take with you impressions, of a life replete with eventualities
Made possible through the art of poetry

@klynic

HOW THE POETRY SLAM CONTEST WORKS FOR ME

It is no secret that poetry lives within my soul and finds its way to the surface with every breath I take. When the poetry slam contest was conceived, it served for me as a means of giving back to a community that helped foster the art within me.

Each new contest week comes with a theme from which the writers are expected to dig deep and unleash their inner poet. So when judging:

  • I ensure the tags were used as instructed
  • I check for plagiarism
  • I read through and ensure the central theme was maintained
  • I open my mind and let the poem conjure up images within my mind(
    very important, if this doesn't happen, then you most likely have lost me
    )
  • I check grammar a lot

Sometimes it gets hard to separate the winner from the first runner-up, that is because these two positions are only separated because it is a competition, though I feel in subsequent episodes we may have ties judging by how the submissions keep getting more and more excellent.

Feel free to participate and follow the @stach blog, the contest runs bi-weekly and I hope to see you all in the next episode.

till next time, I remain

yours truly,

@klynic
klinic.jpg

Sort:  

looking forward to the next episode.

The post is finally out, so let's get rolling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70