Possibility of Eternity

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Night, again,
the morbid inhalation
of the night opening
it's maw as though to decimate,
In one long suck,
the layers of light
still caked to our skin like earth
atop a mass grave; but
no one dies in vain,
the deeds of flesh and mind
dissipate and reinvigorate
the moist dirt with the very thing
the night wants gone: life
and the possibility of eternity.

Sort:  

Yeah...do not cop out and leave your poem untitled - that's the most essential part - it provides the focus, gives a clue to interpretation and most likely emphasizes the theme. If you leave it untitled peeps will quote the first line, Night, Again - but this is not a poem in a cycle of poems where you can number them - this a stand alone, and you need to dig deeper and give it a title.

I came up with one earlier. It's called the Possibility of Eternity.

Your vocabulary is always so intriguing. I like the way that this flows from each line and almost forces you to say it in one breath, adding to the message of the poem. I could read it again and again.

Thanks, darling. My vocabulary tends to be buried deep in me and it comes out like smoke or weeds. As you know verbally I'm not a walking thesaurus, but when I enter this blank page, the words come from somewhere to my fingers, not always, but sometimes its like a surge or electricity or smoke as though Ive tapped into something beyond myself, and that place is made up of language.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45