Am not black, you aint white, is he grey?

in #poetry7 years ago

RACISM
Today I walked into my classroom, immediately it was all dead silent.I could see from the disgusted looks on everyones faces that I was not wanted around.Either way I still walked to my desk which was openly separated from all the rest.Am only 13 I dont get why.
2016-07-11-1468251381-2665399-racism-thumb.jpeg
What did I do the previous school term?I wonder but nothing comes to mind.At break time I seek to ask my best friend."You dont want
to know"she says ."But I do!"I answer as I wonder what it wàs that was hard to take .Immediately a group of the popular girls pass by and glare first at me then at Kate.Kate excuses herself and leaves.

At lunch I cant find Kate and I have to sit alone at the cafeteria.All the while I get glances and stares.I cant withhold any longer I walk to class.And right there above my desk I see it all so clear.TIRED OF YOU PEOPLE FIND YOUR OWN PLACE

I didn't have a choice to be born black or white,
Dont judge me by the color on me it aint right,
This is only the cover of what lies withinhave some sight,
Deep within are we not the same? You know am right.

You call me black you call him white,
His father is white his mom is black is he grey?
I only want in this matter to shade some light,
That am not my skin I am me.

I look to a time when the colour of my skin is no issue,
I should not be taken down by my roots,
Asian, African, American we all are one in many ways than 1,
You just have to see beyond the colour of my skin,
For there lies the person that I truly am.

Let's not by any reason be separated by our races but instead let it be the forum of our unity in our quest to know the different cultures we haveimages.jpeg1-Website-1.jpgracism.jpg1888_racism-in-castro-2.jpg

Sort:  

well said, am a great fan of your work

"White is no better than black or black as good as white" Quran says this you are a man just like others and to God if your deeds are good than u are good so color is nothing.

Powerful story! Dealing with racism is never easy! Upvoted and Followed!
We of @poetrytrail are always looking for quality content like yours! Hope you will hop on too and take part in our poetry events, it would be a shame if we couldn’t share this great poetry with more of the community!

Congratulations @kindafavoured! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60004.45
ETH 2418.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43