Sniper

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

There are infinite truths.
We argue which to position at
With the supposition that
It matters.
Who gives a fuck?
It's all the truth, so why the fuss...
Just start at one
and run.

Good can be powerful; chaos is easy.
So I flatlined-
A flat ironed cauterized amygdala has freed me
from
The aesthetic sadness of
Scattered
Neon Lights.
You say you miss the moving land,
Crawling,
Infested with life?
Oh.
You have never seen the Earth,
American child
Just the doped up stare of an owned, scared lover.
Choked
Like your dog when she doesn't sit proper.

Plucked-over piles contain at least a slip of support to prop up yours-
But most 'facts' are just
Damned good opinions.
A repetition of tautological redundancies:
We like our women bound.
I know its not your fault your attention is drowned.
It's hard to listen to someone's
"Theories"
When fantasizing about reverse cowgirl
So
Apologies all around.


I don't usually like to explain my poetry, as each person can find different pieces of the world in certain words, but this was done as an accompaniment to an artists series. Jamie Goode created eight women who were sort of Kill Bill/Aeon Flux types. They were each a different type of combatant, and I gave them each personal philosophies
and let them speak. The Sniper of course is a blunt and precise person. The beginning is straightforward, we live in an infinite existence with infinite variations of truth, all of which are equally true yet equally lacking . I used the flat iron as a tool for destroying the amygdala (the emotional center) because, well, fuck us we are just women and that's what we have lying around, right? lol The whole piece is pretty caustic, and jabbing. I live by a dog beach and notice often people's relationship to their dogs, and the misplaced aggression I witness by people who don't have a lot of power in life utilizing that relationship and the power in it in a very immature way. I honestly don't even view most people as doing this with any kind of mal intent, it is just one of the ways we don't notice ourselves as the oppressors. I feel most people's relationship to 'the environment' is also - idk- sick maybe? Discussions about "the environment" as if it is a separate entity or commodity, and not that it is literally everything we exist in. I grew up in Maine, my childhood was like Mowgali in The Jungle Book, I was in trees, the water, dirty and exploring the forests for hours and hours on end. I am still aware that the version I saw was a tamed version. The last part was tying in the character and the earth, as ways our species has bound women/truth/creators, and how as an attractive female, you may believe you are having an engaged discussion or participating in a project/company only to find they were waiting for a prime time to hit on you. But in more colorful language ;) haha

Sort:  

You just planted 0.99 tree(s)!


Thanks to @kilbride

We have planted already 6034.48 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20683.73
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

You got a 1.93% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @kilbride!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 25.00% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @kilbride!

You got a 1.00% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @kilbride!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 29.51% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @kilbride!

You got a 11.76% upvote from @inciter courtesy of @kilbride!

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 8.44% vote... I was summoned by @kilbride! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

This post is odd - I just made a comment elsewhere, telling you I like the way you write and that I am surprised I do not see any stories or poems, then open this post and find a poem.

A comment (with tongue partly in cheek): I am a male, not attractive and would have loved to have attractive girls hit on me.

If it happened now, I would just want to know what's wrong with her...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64778.13
ETH 2531.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68