POETRY: MODESTLY, IN LOVE - JANUARY 26TH, 2017/FRIDAY

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Here's a spoken word or a poetry I did for one of my branding clients-Modestrove London for one of their campaigns.

Modestly, In Love

There’s so much more to me than meets the eyes,
I’m a woman of substance; I take charge of my life.
My self worth is not based on your personal opinions,
Nor, is it based on what I choose to be kept hidden.

Don’t judge me just because, I decide not to flash,
I still go places I never dreamt of.
I still shatter invisible glass ceilings,
I still walk the red carpet, white houses and palaces,
Don’t need the glass slippers to meet my Prince Charming.

And so if I choose not to reveal my body, instead I choose to unveil my modesty,
My sheer perseverance, my grit, my persistence,
My passion and resilience, my truth, my integrity,
Close your eyes and open your heart, I’m more than just, a booby or booty,
Open your heart, now truly see.
See my real beauty, see me for me.

I am enough. I am a diamond, a pearl of wisdom deep in the ocean.
I am unique, I’m smart and I’m funny,
I’m more than a mere physical obsession.
Stop telling me to look like someone else,
I don’t need to be the next Kardashian.

Stop labeling me just because you don’t understand
It’s really not about being Muslim, being Hindu, being Sikh or Christian.
Even if it is something to do with my religion,
Then it really is none of your concern.

What’s most important is for you to get it,
It’s about me respecting and loving my body,
It’s about me being content with the person I am.
It’s about me choosing a life of modesty.

If that bugs you, well then I’m not sorry,
I’m not sorry that I’m in control of what you see
I’m not sorry I choose to cover up
And I’m definitely not sorry to exercise my right.

You have a choice to fall in love again,
You have a choice to embrace who you really are and who I really am.
Humility, kindness, respect and compassion,
Wear them proud, they’ll always be the in trend fashion.

Now when you’re ready to finally be
Without the need for outside approval,
Come step inside, into my world,
A world where faith, has infinite freedom!

Experience joy, fulfillment & contentment,
Daring greatly, truly, madly,
Still go places, still live your life,
Falling deeply,
Modestly in love!

Yours truly,
Kedee Ismalasari

Have a great Friday everyone! My favorite day of the week.

Picture Credit (Modestrove London)

Sort:  

Love it. Apart from you, we have a couple of poet in Team Malaysia :)

Oh, that's awesome!!! Would definitely love to connect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38