The Sunset is Your Laughter (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

The sunset is your laughter;
The water is your rain
Of every thing you've ever thought,
--of joy and bitter pain.

The sunset's an elixir
To keep you warm and dry
When the fight of every dark
Threatens in the sky.

Image.png-13.jpeg

So don't forget the sunset
When night is bitter cold:
Think of all the hidden hues
The coming sun will hold.

The sunset is your shelter;
Keep it in your chest,
Keep it as your lifeblood
--and you'll never know of death.

  • June 17, 2017 (copyrighted)

(A little poetry free-write from this morning--not my most fabulous work, but quaint and worth sharing. Although not all of my work is metred, I think we could benefit from bringing it back. Don't you just love the lilt of a well-metred poem? It's simply enchanting.)

Xx, Kay

Sort:  

Beautiful :)

Thank you so much! xx

I added another stanza--it didn't seem "finished."

Love it, great flow! Beautiful sunset as well.

Thank you, friend! xx

Added another stanza.. it needed a little something more! xx

You evoke the melancholy o get when i watch a sunset, for me its a joyful thing, but at the same time makes me introspective and slightly sad, Dont think its not fabulous at all, and thanks for posting it.

Thank you very much! xx

I just love sunsets Natures own painting for ending the day Stunning poem.

Exactly. Thank you!

You're a good poet!

Some interesting lines here. I like "When the fight of every dark
Threatens in the sky" and how you choose "The water is your rain" when it follows "The sunset is your laughter." Many people may have chosen to write "The sunset is your laughter. The rain is your tears" or something similar. I think you did a good job steering clear from the typical cliches in poetry and creating an interesting meaning of the sunset. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you! I was hoping some of those switches would be felt--a little bit of newness really changes common poetic images.

I agree. Definitely. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55