THE SIGNS OF A HYPOCRITE

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Prologue: I wrote this poetic artistic written piece to try and capture the depth of human malfunction in relationships. After I finished, I sat there quietly kinda choked up because it convicted me of all the moments in my life that I was being utterly self-consumed and writing this allowed me to see it. The point of this is put a finger on the issue and communicate that raw truth about life with words that penetrate into that profound deep the heart. It's really good!!! I promise you will like it!!

hypocrite.jpg

Hypocrite:
(An honest poetic exercise of self-examination)

I am a narcissistic hypocrite.
I openly tell the truth to others and secretly lie to myself whenever I can.
Usually, I tell the truth only to myself and lie to others so I can feel powerful.
I do good things all the time so nobody can find any proof that I am a desperately greedy person.
When people ask me if I want to be held accountable, I say, “yes I do” but, I’m lying to their face.
I say, “I want to love you” but, I don’t; I only want to love myself.
I act like I care about you when others are watching but, I actually don't care that you exist.
If I'm found caring for you, it is under false pretense, so I can use you only as an object to get what I want.
I act like I am humble, but I see a person who should be worshiped in the mirror.
I posture and encourage others to speak up for what is right but, I don't really care what's right if it makes me uncomfortable.
I make myself look better than I am at all times because I am preoccupied with what others think of me.
If I think you are honest, I won't trust you.
I use intelligent words that make others think I’m smart, but it is just to hide my own stupidity.

I shine up garbage and sell it as new to others; when they call me for a refund because they find I have sold them trash, I can never be reached because I have turned off my phone while I am too busy laughing about the fact that they were naive enough to trust me.

My heart and feelings are irrelevant; I locked them away in a prison because they were being too inconvenient.
I act carefree and innocent, but I am secretly a shrewd manipulator.
I have no agenda, except I try and control everything at all costs, but I deny that's my agenda.
I feel no empathy for others, but always assure others that I feel for them and their situation.
I’m always around but I'm never available.
I encourage others to get to know me, so they will get close enough for me to use;
If I discover I can’t use you for what I want, I'll assault you with verbal abuse and publicly rant and ridicule you until you leave me alone.

In public, I do religious things but in private I entertain criminal behavior and scheme like an evil person.
I act immorally but profess I am holy and morally blameless.
I take all the best for myself and consider others lucky to be considered.
I am an adult but act like a child.
If you ask me to wait, I’ll hate you immediately.
My motto is: Say one thing and do another. It helps me avoid getting caught.
I can never admit anything that implicates guilt because I don't believe guilt is valid.
To be guilty I have to be wrong, and I'm never wrong; you are.
I say “Honor me”; next time I have an opportunity to honor you, I'll honor myself, because after all,
I’m a narcissistic hypocrite.

Sort:  

Congratulations @katzkarter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nicely put :)

thanks mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55