The Promise of the Night

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

There are rare times when I feel like I can be myself, unedited. Some of my most real moments are in the quiet of night, when darkness enfolds me in a sense of freedom rarely found during the day.

What a gift, to let down the mask, to give up trying to be anything other than me...

But it doesn't last. And I have to don my armour again, watch what I say, watch what I do. Meanwhile, my heart beats at the cage, wanting to fly. Liberation is a fleeting thing.


full moon eclipse
photo: Clayton Caldwell/Unsplash

line

The Promise of the Night


This poem has been pulled from my Steem blog for use in publication. Thank you for your interest in my writing! Please visit me on Twitter for current content: https://twitter.com/KatrinaAriel
line

Sorry if this one is bittersweet. I'll get back to my usual uplifting posts shortly. ;)

Take care of yourself, you are a gift!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @enginewitty, @jackmiller, @drakos, @guiltyparties, @gtg, @steemgigs, @curie, @lukestokes.mhth, @pfunk, @c0ff33a, @noblewitness — There are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner2.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Ahh the poetic princess..👍 i always believe you are the one who always be in yourself....btw i am very poor in understanding the depth of a poem..

Posted using Partiko Android

Poetry means different things to different people, my friend. That is the beauty of it, so whatever it means to you, that's just fine. Thank you for the sweet comment. :)

Tye rhythm and the rhymes always sounds interedting to me...but when it comes to getting i depth meaning..i poorly fail...😯

Posted using Partiko Android

Part of the reason I go to bed so late is because I love the night so much. Lovely tribute to it here! 🤗

YES! I've always been a night owl, too. Thank you for the sweet comment!

Can I read this this week??? LOVE IT Bittersweet may it be, but still exudes a raw passion that doesn't want to be stifled.

Yes, of course you can read it. 💖

exudes a raw passion that doesn't want to be stifled.

Yeah. That. Navigating life with that... Thanks for the comment love.

Any time Princess. Great is too meek for this one.

To be free is a great feeling, I am happy that you can experience it, even for a brief moment. The poem is lovely honey, absolutely beautiful! 💚

Thank you so much! Yes, it's a yin/yang world. Take the freedom when it comes, right? ;)

🤗🤗🤗

keep dreaming and never stop!!!

YES! Thank you for every bit of your encouragement. 💖

This is beautiful - and so sad that we live in a world that we have to cloak ourselves in armour to get through the day. And yet, at least we get those beautiful velvet-dark moments of the night to let our truth shine bright (or in my case, let my freak flag fly high ;) )

Such a wonderfully moving piece. Sending you (the real, unarmoured you) a warm hug. I hope you're okay.

E x

Thank you for the hug! 🤗 I'm okay. Just surfing the intensity of life, turning moments into creations. So glad you enjoyed the poem. 💖

pulls out her freak flag
cranks up the tunes
gets her groove on

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59356.21
ETH 2723.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53