POEM: The Dark Waters of the Soul

in #poetry4 years ago (edited)

This is an old memory. It resurfaced slowly, over the last few weeks, but when I saw the latest writing prompt by @steemhousepub, it made me think of digging up memories from the ashes. And, as many of my creations do, a poem emerged halfway through my yoga practice and was thus scrawled into a notebook as I lay belly-down on my mat.

I appreciate poetry as an art of capturing memories and bringing them back to life. This story is buried far in the past, with imagery of a beautiful setting I don’t even remember how to get to, but the moment and the man still have a place in my heart. I hope you enjoy it.



Photo: Melissa Askew/Unsplash

The Dark Waters of the Soul


It was meant to be a solo trip,
But she didn’t want to be alone yet.
So, she invited him. The mysterious one.
The man whose heathen grace made her blood sing.

They found sanctuary in a forest,
By a river whose cascades created deep pools.
Cedar and mist scented the air.
A rope swing hung over dark, cold water,
Beckoning the brave...

... The rest of this poem has been pulled from my Steem blog for use in publication. Thank you for your interest in my writing! Please visit me on Twitter for current content: https://twitter.com/KatrinaAriel

In case you’re wondering, I returned the sword. It wasn’t a forever gift, but the memory was, and I’m glad for it, even now. Even if it was bittersweet.

If you’d like to participate in the writing prompt, check out the second Steemhouse writing prompt post.

As always, thanks for reading!

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of life.

Katrina’s writing website


Sort:  

Such a beautiful and strong poem, sad but still powerful 🥰 I always loved your mind and your ability to put things in words are just pure GOLD!
Loved it sweet Sister 💖

Thank you, love! I so appreciate being able to share these poems and having people like you enjoy them. You're doing so well with your own poetry. It's a journey, being able to put ideas and feelings into words. I keep learning... We all do. Love you!

You have such a way with words always love your poems and it reminds me how bad I am at expressing myself with my boring words I include with my posts LOL

!trdo

Congratulations @tattoodjay, you successfuly trended the post shared by @katrina-ariel!
@katrina-ariel will receive 0.54775238 TRDO & @tattoodjay will get 0.36516825 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Your photography is your expression, and you excel at that! The thoughts you include are honest and present, and that's more than enough. We each have our way to shine. Thank you for seeing mine.

Thanks thats so kind of you to say :) and its always a pleasure to visit your posts

This is absolutely stunning, Katrina. The imagery-- it takes my breath. Beautiful.

Aw... Thank you so much. It's always a compliment when you're writing can make others feel, or transport them to another world. ;)

Lovely poem @katrina-ariel, rich in imagery and, as you mentioned, bittersweet emotions.

Indeed. Thank you so much!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @sunravelme.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Yay, cake! Most appreciated! :)

The forest didn’t fill her like his wolf-eyed kindness,
Even if his sword lent her strength.

Think that's my favorite coupling, and this is such a sad but strong one love. Gonna have to read this next week for sure! Hope you and the liluns are hangin tough in that snow. I mean, course you are!

@alliedforces curate 2

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work and join us in The Castle sometime!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 88.02%

So glad you like it! Thank you! Would love for you to read it. And, yes, we're hanging in here. Only three more months of winter to go. ;)

3 more months honestly glad it's you and not me :P

something that comes from the bottom of my heart must be beautiful

A beautiful poem. I have no words to thank you for these happy moments that I feel when I read you.

I particularly love these verses:

They lingered, drawn together in the seclusion of the wood,
Serenaded by river and birdsong.

So glad you enjoyed it, thank you!

Congratulations @katrina-ariel, your post successfully recieved 0.54775238 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@tattoodjay earned : 0.36516825 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I am so happy to come across one of your poems again, I do love your writing. This was very sensual, so beautifully written xxx
curated for creativecoin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42