POEM: Riptide

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Imagine you’re sitting on a beach, listening to the sound of the waves. It’s twilight, with a bright moon rising.

A friend sits next to you with a guitar and starts to play. The resonance of the strings blends with the sounds of the waves, and then a voice is added to the mix…


Riptide


This poem has been pulled from my Steem blog for use in publication. Thank you for your interest in my writing! Please visit me on Twitter for current content: https://twitter.com/KatrinaAriel



I would love to tell you I’ve got the music for this one ready, but I don’t. I’ve been working on it, and the more takes I do the more I hate the guitar part.

Would you believe I finally got frustrated enough to ask for help? I think this song will end up being a collaboration of some sort. We shall see. I haven’t posted for a few days because I’ve been working on this, so I figured I’d share the lyrics, for now.

I’ll also share something that came out of my mouth in a conversation the other day, since it’s woven into this song:

The more humble I become, the more I like myself.

Humility is a gift. I’m not always great at practicing it, but I’m learning more and more to accept others as they are, and to have the courage to be who I am.

We’re all a work in progress, right?

Thank you for reading.

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
gifs via giphy.com


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


alliance banner

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You know, everything doesn't have to be a song. There is nothing wrong with a poem, and when I read it, it was your voice in my head as the words came to light. You could always read this poem, if you wanted to, slowly, in that soft, sweet, gentle voice of yours, and that would be melody enough, no doubt. 💖

Love this, KittyGirl, thank you. That said, I've got someone who is going to help me put this to music. I love singing it. :) You're amazing, for the record!

Even if this does not get the music it is still beautiful as it is now, do not push yourself too much, if it comes and when it comes is fine 💚

do not push yourself too much, if it comes and when it comes is fine 💚

I love you, just sayin'. Thank you for this reminder. (((hugs)))

And with a series of words strung together, Katrina slays me. Lays me open to the heart. sigh I may or may not be able to listen to this as a song. The lyrics on a page are strong enough to make my throat get tight.

Sorry 'bout that. Words, eh? ;)

May have to read this, but am leaning towards hearing you read it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll read it for you. Happily.

wow...... just wow....

Es un hermoso poema... Usa tu guitarra, puntea un poco las cuerdas como si de un piano se tratara... saludos.

¡Gracias! @pechichemena me está ayudando con la música. :)

Beautiful words, Katrina. 💕

Thank you, kindly! :)

Hello katrina-ariel!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67