POEM: Naked Honesty

in #poetry5 years ago

There I was again this morning, on my mat with words coming. Had to stop and get my notebook to let them out. It’s amazing how many times lyrics start flowing when I’m doing yoga, moving energy around.

Yes, this will get music at some point, but I’m a bit under the weather at the moment and not really up to singing. I hope you enjoy it as a poem.

So much of my writing is about the epic battle between limitation and freedom. I think this is something most of us can relate to on a universal, human level—the balance between being who you are, and trying to adapt to the world around you.


nearly naked yoga

line

Naked Honesty


I’m so tired but my soul wants a song.
Done a free-fall into nothing and it won’t be long
Till I’ve got to face my choices, speak my truth and believe
That you won’t leave me stranded, you’ll let me be me.

There’s a difference between breaking and the cold of defeat.
Can’t give up or give in, that would be the death of me.
All these rules that bind us stem the river of chi.
Please let go and let live, find the true meaning of free.

I know it’s scary, this honesty,
But if I don’t say it, you’ll never see
The depths of my soul, the fullness of me.
Please try to hold me and still let me breathe.

Struggled through this lonely feels like my whole life,
Been a solo journey, even in my dreams at night.
Get a taste of closeness, heart hopes that I might,
But there’s always something blocking me from dancing in the light.

Are you strong enough to face me without needing to cage me?
Can you stay and be present when I let out the rage in me?
Can you listen like I need you to and actually hear me?
Or will you run away, just another to fear me?

Don’t know what to do but tear away what’s left
Of the bindings and fear and judgment that’s kept
Me from taking to the sky, letting love be my wings.
Fuck it, I’ll go naked. Let the world hear me sing.

Original writing by Katrina Ariel

line

nearly naked yoga


No, this was not the setting for my yoga practice today. These photos were taken quite a few years ago on Ramanso beach, in Nicaragua. But they’re as close to naked as I’m gonna get on the blockchain, so I figured they’d work with the theme. ;)

Thanks so much for reading! I’d love to hear your thoughts.


Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
Dragon art commissioned from Liiga Smilshkalne.


alliance banner

Sort:  

This is such a naked honest touching poem and I feel you sister.
I can relate to so many things in this and I think many of us can.
I was having a hard weekend and was feeling much mehh about most things.
Reading this and again se the way you put it all in words... I Sooo wish I could to ❤️

The part The part... "Can you listen like I need you to? And actually hear me?"

And "All those rules that bind us steem river of chi..."
I feel you so much in this poem....

Wish I could help that spirit of yours to be released from the cage of rules and set you free to fly like you are supposed to❤️ love

You do help, sister sweet. You help by seeing me, and it encourages me to be more fully myself. Thank you for hearing me, for understanding so well. Big love and you know I'm always there for you!!! As for your own poetry, I love it, I really do. Keep sharing those words with us, or even just write them for yourself. It helps to get the feelings out. ((((hugs))))

"As close to naked as I'm going to get on the blockchain."

The pictures, yeah. But that's some pretty revealing verse, too. I definitely connect.

True. Sometimes words show a lot more than pictures. ;) Thanks for always listening and hearing me so well!

Reads great! It’s funny how inspiration hits at such seemingly odd times, and u have to run to the nearest paper and pen or pull out yr memo recorder in order to catch it before it’s gone.

Truth. The muse is a fierce one, demanding at times. ;) Thanks for the kind comment.

It’s lovely as a poem. I’m sure it will be even more fabulous as a song!

Thank you, Jayna. I hope to get working on the music soon. :)

Maybe not nake don the beach but I feel these words are letting your self be as open as one can be

Pretty much, eh? ;)

I wish I could be as open as you were here, I tend except with my Wife be a closed book, no-one really knows what is going on in my head

I think so many of us are that way, especially men. We're taught that's the way, right? Stoic is expected, you've got to be strong, but sometimes we are at our strongest when we're brave enough to be honest and open. At the same time, the mysterious man who is a puzzle to be discovered is an attractive thing. ;) I wonder how much of that attraction is the stereotype of the hero we're conditioned to hold as sacred. In truth, every hero falls and fails, they're just willing to get up and give it their all, again and again.

I think your last line really summed up what is a true hero

and yes a lot of it is due to conditioning when we were growing up and the BS that real men do not show emotions,I don't show my emotions to many but my Wife sees a totally different me than most others do LOL

Please try to hold me and still let me breathe.

A recipe for a perfect partnership. I think I've got that but sometimes wanna shout this kind of thing... even in most free.of times I can feel caged. It's always a push me pull you.

Posted using Partiko Android

The push and pull of relationships is a constant striving for balance, isn't it? I think it makes us stronger, though, that returning to self to check in, and trying to be strong individuals in connection with others. Thanks for understanding, my friend. (((hugs)))

"All these rules that bind us stem the river of chi."

Since you know me better than most, this particular line rings so true. Things I've studied and learned and understand that, yes, rules are, a, um, lemme find a good word. Hindrance? Shackle? Though some are meant to reign, some are meant to be broken, and others, just are blatant walls.

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed. Too many walls in our world, too many constraints to the beauty within each of us. Let that river of chi flow. ;)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Photos go lovely with those words and it really is incredible how yoga and playing with energy can get the words to flow. You have outdone yourself once again darling and each one of your words is beautiful as are you and everything you do. Much love 💚

Thank you, love! Yes, get that energy moving and the words come spilling out. Beaming bright right back at'cha! ;)

Hello @katrina-ariel, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you! So appreciated. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94