POEM: Let Me Run

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

want to fly

line

Don’t want food.
Don’t want to do
All that must be done.
I just want to get on a mountain and run,
Up, up, up, until I find
A place where the wild inside
Doesn’t scare me quite so much.
A place where I’m not afraid to touch the sun.
But every time I try
The fire consumes me and I die...
I die, but like a phoenix I rise.

Trapped in the chaos, way down here
Let me climb up, let me get clear,
Just me, alone with the trees
The quiet sets me free.

I dream, hopin’ the sky will split open,
Dragon-friend will come, wing-wind blowin’
My fears away. Would they anchor me,
Make me stay? Or would I climb on and fly from this day,
Forget all that drags me down?
Not that it matters. Just a dream. Time to ground.

But I don’t want food.
Don’t want to do
All that must be done.
I just want to get on a mountain and run, run, run.


Original writing by Katrina Ariel

line

Thank you for reading.

Take care of yourself, you are a gift!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @enginewitty, @jackmiller, @guiltyparties, @drakos, @curie, @noblewitness, @steemgigs, @c0ff33a, @sapphic, @followbtcnews, @poetsunited, @steemcreative, @pfunk, @helpie — There are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

Thank you to ALL the witnesses who contribute to the stability and evolution of the Steem Blockchain! You are most appreciated.

alliance banner

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by katrina-ariel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Tell us what you really feel. LOL! Great poem.... and that pic is perfect. You kinda remind me of how I think about getting out on the water. Thanks!

Heh. I'm not good a pretending, yet I still hold so much back. I know you can relate to the need for nature, and that urge to escape. ;) Thanks for the comment, love!

A place where the wild inside
Doesn’t scare me quite so much.

Such a beautiful insight. It depicts how we crave authenticity yet we still feeling afraid of it. Thanks 🙏🏻

It depicts how we crave authenticity yet we still feeling afraid of it.

Right?! What's up with that, anyway, the fear of being real. I guess fear of rejection for shining through, or fear of what we might have to face up to...

Thanks for the lovely comment. :)

This is exactly how I understood it. It is brilliant insight. Thanks for sharing.

RUN RUN RUN!!! This is an adorable and very free poem. By saying free poem I mean that it brings out the feeling of freedom in me. This was a pure delight to read. Much love honey! 💚

YAY! So glad you found joy in this. Much love to you, sister across the sea. Keep feeling free! 💕

It's beautiful. I don't run anymore, but I certainly understand getting out and away.

For me, it's this: Every hour I spend on my motorcycle includes a 59 minute vacation.

That's what I got from your poem. Thank you for it.

Yes! Such freedom on a motorcycle, I totally relate. Same same, really. I don’t run as much anymore, but I take long strides and keep climbing. I like going up the trail at least as much as going down.

Wonderful writing, being home sick for a week I feel the need to get out with nature and frsh air at the moment

Fresh air is so good! Hope you're feeling better and can get back to the seaside. Those beach walks are the best. 💕

Ohh yes indeed, I am hoping tomorrow to make a beach visit

Ohh yes indeed, I
Am hoping tomorrow to
Make a beach visit

                 - tattoodjay


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I AM SO HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Love this!!

Love YOU! 💕💕💕

I just LOVE how you put your thoughts in words and it's raw and honest ❤️ I can relate to.
Beautiful poem written by a beautiful woman with beautiful heart! Love you! 💕🌷🤗🤗

Thank you, my sweet sister! Love you too!💕💕💕

Love the pic, and it’s a wildly freeing sentiment: I just want to get on a mountain and run, run, run.

But realist me then thinks....are we running up or down? Because a mountainous incline sucks. I’m the biggest whiner on hikes and trail runs....

lol! I love running uphill. For real. Easier on the knees than running down, anyway. ;)

Dont fear the wild inside cos she is usually truer
And will free herself one day
Always lovely poems

Such wisdom, but I'm still afraid. lol! (((hugs)))

And thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72