POEM: I’m Not Broken

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


Oh, the perfect wave. Wouldn't that be nice? Every once in a while life gives us one of those, but just as often the wave takes us out.

It’s frustrating when you want to do something but you can’t, or when pain comes in to obliterate all else. The waves of thoughts and feelings that go along with life can get intense, but to me the crucial point to remember is that they are waves, cycles.

This too shall pass.



When I let the energy flow, the wave goes through its cycle, and the next one forms. I might get crushed for a while, rolled beneath suffocating pressure and not know which way is up, but if I go with it I know I’ll resurface.

I find my proverbial surfboard, regroup, and try the next wave. Maybe I’m even a little wiser for the wipe out.

It seems a lot of us have been bashed against the rocks lately, so to speak. If you’re having a rough go of it, hang in there. You’re not alone.

My approach is to keep looking for the beauty in life. It’s there, and it’s in each of us.



I wrote this poem in the healing aftermath of a meltdown that had me in a rather vulnerable place.

For the record, I used to despise the word vulnerable. I’m still a little uncomfortable with it. Makes me want to put on armour. Anyway, poetry helps, even if it shows glimpses of that all-too-real vulnerability.

line

POEM: I’m Not Broken


This poem has been pulled from my Steem blog for use in publication. Thank you for your interest in my writing! Please visit me on Twitter for current content: https://twitter.com/KatrinaAriel

line

What if there’s nothing wrong with you?


I enjoy watching TED Talks, and tend to fall down rabbit holes on YouTube that lead to interesting discoveries. Last night I found one by Susan Munich Henkels, author of What If There’s Nothing Wrong With You?

In her presentation, Susan invites us to consider the question, “What if there’s nothing wrong with me?” and try out a new perspective on ourselves. A gentler one, by far.

I also watched this one, called “The Art of Being Yourself,” by Caroline McHugh. Her lovely accent kept me listening, and her compassionate confidence drew me in.

It helped me, listening to this. I share it here in case it helps someone else, too.


Self-Care Reminder:


I haven’t posted in a handful of days, because life. Also, my body has needed some rest, and attention, and… well, I’ve been riding the waves.

But it feels good to take care of myself. It’s necessary. So I thought I’d include a gentle self-care reminder to take the time to take care of you.

Drink water, breathe fresh air, exercise, sleep (without a screen on somewhere nearby), interact with people face-to-face, and do the things that nourish YOU. It's important, and you're worth it.

Take care of yourself, you are a gift!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Gifs via giphy.com.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
Dragon art commissioned from Liiga Smilshkalne.


alliance banner

Sort:  

What a beautiful, heartfelt poem @katrina-ariel. We all need to pause and spend some me time, so glad you are. I know you have a crazy schedule with those little ones...its tough to find a moment to step back. Take care my friend. (enjoy some of those cookies you're always sharing :) )

Well, you know I'm not exactly the poetry critic, but this one might be your best one yet. Simple, straight forward, and like a well placed arrow.

I'm a lot better with prose. Your words that are around your poem are pretty darn spectacular, too.

I don't have any experience with surfboards at all. What it did remind me of was avalanche training. "When you've been rolled over by an avalanche and don't know which way is up, spit. Up is the opposite direction that spit runs on your face. Dig up. It is your only hope."

Thanks for this. I really do appreciate it.

So relatable! So accurate! So true! We will have nothing but stories in the end! Loved your poem and the videos you added. I only knew the first one.

Fuck I can relate to this.
Beautiful poem and post.

Aw, thank you! Love you back. As always, this made me smile. Hang in there, my friend!

Look at that 12 meter wave! - And he lost it!

There are days when you need to ignore all,
and you ride the waves

There are days when it all comes tumbling down
and you ride the waves

And you know?
there are always days when* ride the waves* is a good day!

Sometimes we need to move through the phases that make us feel broken in order to understand and reach our strengths.

Lovely! ❤️

Truth. And so powerful when we recognize it, eh? :) Thank you!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Oooh, you knew I’d love this. ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Had a feeling you might relate. ;)

Oh, beauty. You write from the soul and I can feel it from here. There is something about putting it all down for me, myself... So I can read and examine those feels. I love the way you write and express it all so clearly.

I think I spot you sitting on the board, waiting for that wave. Take your time and get up. If you miss this one, there will always be another.

Take good care of yourself. my friend. xoxo

!tip

You know, every time you write a comment you make me feel good? Kindness, wisdom, easy-going attitude—it all comes through in your words. Thank you so much for the love, beaming right back at'cha! :)

I can relate to this so much, beautiful poem princess ❤️
You write with your heart and soul and it reaches the core in me every time 😍 you have a gift!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60832.40
ETH 2912.20
BNB 525.30
SBD 2.31