Drop in the Ocean: Pride

in #poetry6 years ago

This poem was written from the weekly prompt for the Drop in the Ocean post, which is a fun, community building effort by @buddyup.

open-heart-river.jpg

I've used this photo for a few poems on Steemit before now, but I love it. Yes, that's me. Nothing like laying on the edge of a river, practicing surrender.

line-divider-clean.png

Pride


Stop pulling at me already.
I don’t have time for your tricks.
The only way through this is humble,
Pride and surrender don’t mix.

I’ve been torn down enough now,
I don’t need any more.
You can have the top of the mountain,
I’ll stay down here on the shore.

Every burn from your sun has scarred me,
To the point that I want to hide.
Instead I’ll just keep moving,
Try to take it in stride.

To let you go completely,
No more delusional decrees,
Would be a worldwide breath of relief.
A day I would like to see.

Original poem by Katrina Ariel

line-divider-clean.png

Hmmm…


So that was interesting. It began as a personal conversation with pride, and dissolved into wanting to be free of pride on a global scale.

I’m talking about false pride, of course, about the idea of any one of us being better than another. That “I’m better than you,” mentality is the source of all misery, in my ever so humble opinion. ;)

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with being proud of yourself, as long as pride doesn’t begin to make us think we’re better than other people. Tricky balance, that.

If you have thoughts on the subject, I’d love to hear them in the comments, but first...


Please check out my Open Mic entry!


I did my first entry for Steemit Open Mic this week, and I'm proud of it. A little nervous to put myself in the spotlight, too, but that's what this blogging thing is about so... I'd love it if you'd check out the post with video and lyrics. The song is less than three minutes, and is bittersweet but ends on a hopeful note. ;)

And be sure to head on over to #buddyup to see what’s happening in this great community!

Thanks for reading!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Banner by @PegasusPhysics

Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

alliance banner

Sort:  

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

I really loved this line..

You can have the top of the mountain

i have felt that so often hahahahaha "just take it!!!!" LOL
loved the picture too - it was so beautiful. such surrender!

happy to get a bit of time with you today in the show - and saw that sweet buddyup shoutout on the bottom hehehehe :)

Thank you. It's a good line. lol! Glad I finally got to doing a Drop in the Ocean post. This was fun!

I liked the poem; the contrast is evident and the delusional pride feels harmful to you, not just something you dislike but something you are more 'allergic' to, in a way.

It's interesting, to think that we are all equal. Maybe inherently, we all have the potential to be all good, in an equal way. However, I don't feel like we all achieve that potential. Mainly because of society and circumstances, and in fact I do consider myself privileged and more lucky than most people, to achieve free education, free health care, and so on.

Thank you. As for everyone being equal, yes privilege is a thing, something I benefit from, but that doesn't make me better than anyone else. I think we are all citizens of the world, and regardless of our situations everyone deserves to be treated with dignity. What I dislike the most is thinking that one group of people is better than another for any reason. That kind of false pride is one reason we have so many wars.

Every burn from your sun has scarred me,
To the point that I want to hide.
Instead I’ll just keep moving,
Try to take it in stride.

This let's me think of times that I am going up against people who have such pride , although it may be warranted it keeps them from compromise, in the end they wish to dominate driven by this pride, getting to the point though, that section lets me think it is a case of not fighting fire with fire, but instead I would rather back down - make way for the f@#$ing pride parade - which tends to work quite well but maybe is just a way to birth a violent psychopath .

As you say tricky balance that. 😀

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by katrina-ariel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64