A poem in Sindarin, the language of LORD OF THE RINGS

in #poetry6 years ago

WOW! I was looking through old poetry to see if I could find something worth posting on Steemit (I’m so excited to share my writing with you!) and I came across this poem, part of which I translated into Sindarin, the language created by J.R.R. Tolkien, used by the elves in The Lord of the Rings.

This poem (and Sindarin chanting) was the basis of a film I shot and edited myself, which was a finalist at the 72 Hour Filmmaker’s Showdown in Whistler more than ten years ago. If I ever find the file with that short film, I’ll share it. But for now, without further ado, the poem.

I WALK WITH MINDFUL STEPS, a poem by Katrina Ariel

I walk with mindful steps
And peaceful breath
I am part of every breath and
Heartbeat of this planet

Every tree’s roots are intertwined
And all the earth is one
The fire of the sun will ever circle
And water flows endlessly into itself

Earth is my body
Amar nin rhaw

Water is my blood
Gaearon nin iar

Air is my breath
Gwelu nin thul

Fire is my spirit
Naur nin faer

I breathe love
Thuia meleth

Within the heartbeat of
Im-hun-dringa en

Forest voices
Taur lamath

Golden sky
Malthen menel

Voices of light
Lim o lamath

Katrina Ariel

Sindarin words in italics above. Some translations below:

Forest – Taur (also means great, king, vast, overwhelming, huge…)
Golden – Malthen
Sunlight – Glawar (also radiance)
Sky – Menel
Voices – Lamath
Clear, sparkling light – Lim
Peace – Sidh

There are various Sindarin translators, dictionaries, and tutorials online. If you head off in that direction, enjoy the dive down the rabbit hole created by Tolkien and his fans!

I hope you enjoyed this poem (I did—I'd forgotten about it). If you write poetry, please say hello! I love meeting other writers (and readers)!

Huge gratitude for following, upvoting, resteeming, commenting, or encouraging me in any way. So appreciated!

(LOTR gifs via giphy.com, photo: Nat Anfield, studiofive-o.com | model: Katrina Ariel)

Sort:  

I'm a hobbit I like things that grows

Hello, hobbit. Keep growing the good stuff! :)

Saruman : Don't tell me about Radagast he's a foolish fellow.
Gandalf : Well he's a little bit odd he lives a solitude life in the forest.
Saruman : It's his obsessive consumption of mushrooms, that have addled his brain and yellowed his teeth.
The white council before fighting the witch king of angmar and sauron.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @katrina-ariel to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Ahaan !! Very nice . Thumbs up

This is beautiful! I'd love to see the film too.

Thank you, Amelia! I'd love to find it. lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00