Poetry from a 14-year-old

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

These are a few old poems I wrote back in my freshman year of high school. A mixture of haikus and others.

  1. Rose petals falling
    Start blooming in the darkness
    A deafening silence

  2. Tiger prowls the prey
    Lurking behind the bushes
    The prey runs away

  3. The winter snow falls
    The snowflakes are drifting down
    On the innocent

  4. The leaves show new bloom
    Summer erupts through the sky
    Beginning of new

  5. Spring brings back the bell
    To bring with a new school year
    The students arrive

  6. Pelting on the hair
    Of people who are caught up
    In their own planet

  7. I am a daydreamer and a reader
    I wonder why we walk the Earth
    I hear the shrill ring during the silence
    I see a tiger growling through the halls
    I want to see the pyramids of Giza
    I am a daydreamer and a reader
    I pretend that I’m a character out of one of my books
    I feel the barrier between life and fantasy
    I touch the clouds that float above the sky
    I worry about the animals who are being extinct
    I cry when I’m yelled at
    I am a daydreamer and a reader
    I understand the feeling of being overwhelmed with emotions
    I say that it’s better to say too much than never to say what you need to say (NOTE: I was obviously a huge John Mayer fan at this time lol)
    I dream to explore the world with no bounds
    I try to try hard and succeed in school
    I hope that people and animals will be abused no more
    I am a day dreamer and a reader

  8. Staring out my window
    Gazing as the clouds roll by
    I wonder why
    Why does the sky turn different shades of blue?
    Why does the sun hide from the moon?
    Is it afraid to come out, and show its true colours?
    Why do the stars shine brightly at night
    But they shy away when the sun rises?
    Why are people afraid of the dark?
    Why am I afraid to die?
    Wow, what a cloud…

  9. I hear the old maple leaves crunch under my feet
    As I make my way to the flag pole
    I let out a sigh of relaxation as the wind
    It slowly drifts through my hair
    I look up in awe as the
    Flag laps like the waves of the sea
    Through the open breeze
    Canada, what a place
    With its open spaces
    And fresh air

  10. I see my reflection
    In the fireworks
    Pictures forming in the sky
    Streams of fire shooting into shape
    Slowly fading by the moon

  11. Ode to Teddy Bear (NOTE: I’ve had this teddy bear since I was 2, and I still have it now lol)
    O Teddy Bear, O Teddy Bear,
    You comforted me whenever I cried
    Your soft little paws soothing my tears
    Your beady little eyes taking away my fears
    We met when I was two
    However I could not win you
    I shed so many tears as I cried
    I contemplated that my chances have died
    Yay, my father won you
    I was so overjoyed
    I squeezed you
    And hugged you
    Until I could no more
    You sat by my pillow
    Patiently waiting
    As I got home from school
    Your smile never fading
    If I were ever to lose you,
    I don’t know what I’d do
    I’d cry a sea of tears
    Until you cover up my fears
    I’ll cherish you always
    My little teddy bear
    I’ll keep you forever
    ’til I pass you onto my own daughter fair

Sort:  

Nice stuff. I like #8 the best, very well written. In line 8 of your Ode to Teddy Bear you need to change "mt" to "my".

Congratulations @katie.blossom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71