Vandalism - a translated poemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I am translating poems today... soon I will go on a holiday in the countryside so I am packing all my files and passwords.

This poem was first printed as part of the novel Vandalism by Tom Kristensen. In Danish the word vandalism is hærværk - meaning: the work of armies. The book was published in 1930 and tells the story of a newspaper literary reviewer that slowly, but intentionally gives up his bourgeois life and goes to the dogs in search of meaning... Not that he find any.

When it was published it was seen as a sad key-novel made by an intolerable drunkard - because not only did the main character resemble the author down to the address and the newspaper he worked on - almost all the supporting characters resembled real people - and not in a nice way.

Today it is considered a masterpiece - probably the most important Danish novel of the period.

The poem appears in the book as written by one of the supporting characters - a young poet that has become a proletarian bully to punish his upper class father: Her it is in Danish:

                     Angst

        Asiatisk i vælde er angsten.
        Den er modnet med umodne aar.
        Og jeg føler det dagligt i hjertet,
        som om fastlande dagligt forgaar.

        Men min angst maa forløses i længsel
        og i syner af rædsel og nød.
        Jeg har længtes mod skibskatastrofer
        og mod hærværk og pludselig død.

        Jeg har længtes mod brændende byer
        og mod menneskeracer paa flugt,
        mod opbrud, som ramte alverden,
        og et jordskælv, som kaldtes Guds tugt.

And this is my English translation:

                     Angst

        Asian in might is the angst
        matured during immature years
        and I daily fell in my heart
        as if a continent disappears

        but my angst must redeem into longing
        and in visions of horror and death
        I'm longing for ship disasters
        and for vandals and choking last breath

        I long for metropolis' burning
        and for human races fleeing
        for upheavals that struck the whole world
        for an earthquake called God's decreeing

And here is the poet:

Sort:  

The Vandals do not deserve their bad reputation. Yes, they were the ones that sacked Rome in 455 AD, but

Renaissance and Early Modern writers characterized the Vandals as barbarians, "sacking and looting" Rome. This led to the use of the term "vandalism" to describe any senseless destruction, particularly the "barbarian" defacing of artwork. However, modern historians tend to regard the Vandals during the transitional period from Late Antiquity to the Early Middle Ages as perpetuators, not destroyers, of Roman culture. [Wikipedia]

By the way:

The Vandals are believed to have migrated from southern Scandinavia

So, they were probably coming from what is now Denmark. ;-)

That might explain why we do not use the word vandals in vandalism in Danish, but instead: deed of armies. Vandals is a word you might use about wild children.

The story about the vandals and the concept of sacking and then rebuilding is mirrored in the mongols complete destruction of the first Muslim realm. They sat in the ruins for a while and then they build the next Muslim empire - the Ottoman - on top of what they had destroyed.

Raging looking man with a raging sounding poem! :)

Indeed! It was the expressionist movement, and a lot of rather violent and macabre thing were written and painted.

Hej katharsisdrill, jeg kan med glæde berette at artiklen er oppe og at dit fine quote naturligvis er at finde i det. Du kan se det her:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ronni/5-personality-traits-that-define-a-true-steemian-and-why-that-makes-you-a-pioneer

Tak for hjælpen!

Jeg har lige tjekket den - sikke et arbejde! 100% stemme og jeg skal også nok videredele den. Det er altid godt at snakke om det netværk man er på. Det har jeg også lagt mærke til på andre medier som Diaspora og Mastodon. Det er jo trods alt den eneste ting der virkelig forener folk :)

Tak for de opmuntrende ord katharsisdrill, det sætter jeg stor pris på! Og tak for resteem :)

Velbekomme. Jeg resteemer og stemmer sådan set gerne på ting der er gennemarbejdede og har kvalitetsindhold - I sidste ende er det jo ret vigtigt for Steemit at der bliver læst og stemt på kvalitet, og selv om systemet, ligesom så mange andre systemer for tiden, prøver at finde opskriften på kvalitetesudvælgelse, så er det stadig ret sårbart overfor spekulation og robotter. Men det er derfor det er spændende at være med og se hvad der sker.

Og apropos indhold, har du nogen sinde læst Hærværk at Tom Kristensen?

Ja det er spændende tider vi lever i og selvom jeg tror fuldt ud på Steemit så er der stadig mange faldgrupper i så tidlig en face som vi pt. gennemgår. Kvaliteten af indholdet er helt centralt for Steemits relevans i forhold til andre sociale medier. Jeg håber vi klarer den, personlig vil jeg gøre alt hvad jeg kan for at støtte platformen og dens udbredelse.

Jeg er bekendt med bogen, men har ikke læst den. På hvilken måde relaterer den sig til kvalitetsindhold her på Steemit?

Hehe, kommentarfeltet her ligger lige under en post om bogen.

Der er mange spændende projekter lige nu, men Steemit er det eneste der rigtigt fungerer. Jeg glæder mig til at se på de andre også. Min primære interesse er selvfølgelig hvordan kunstnere kan få en direkte kontakt til publikum og endnu vigtigere, hvordan de kan få folk til at betale lidt når de bruger online kunst.

Jeg ønskede hurtigst muligt at informere dig om at indlægget med dit quote var live i tilfælde af at du skulle have nogle indvendinger - så jeg skrev en kommentar uden at læse den ovenstående tekst :)

Jeg er helt enig, Steemit er det mest øjeblikkeligt anvendelige og værdiskabende lige nu blandt de mange crypto-alternativer.

God aften!

Ja, det havde jeg regnet ud :) Det gjorde jo også at jeg fik stemt i god tid og du har jo tjent godt, så nu regner jeg med en klækkelig belønning.

Have selv en god aften!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90