The Dole QueuesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

Standing at the back of the queue
Trying to blend in with the walls
I drew my hoodie closer
My clothes selected to merge
With the rest of the no-hopers.
Don't look at me!
Eyes meeting for a brief second before
Looking elsewhere, anywhere
Just as long as there is no communication
Therefore no admittance
Of the failure I have become.
No job
No income
No respect.
No recognition of the achievements once studied so hard for.
The ambition that drove meforward
The success once was.
Nothing.
Apathy now fills the space where pride once swelled..
A hollow emptiness
A nothing
A nobody
Another number, a statistic in a sea of nameless faces
An ocean of despair.
Is this what it has all come down to?
The weekly shuffling of desperation
The paltry hand-out
The trek back home to the stony faces
Only now it isn't home...
No welcome there
No welcome anywhere.

// ** // ** // ** // ** // ** // **/ *// ** // **//

Thank you for reading my post. Please upvote if you liked it and follow @katdvine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74