Where Were You?

in #poetry7 years ago

Where Were You.jpg

I could feel the hope spreading through my body

Seeping into my bones

Causing me to wish for such things I could never dream of before

But where were you?

I always knew this day would come

And I know you didn’t mean to

But you did

And now I’m alone

But where were you?

Where were you when I couldn’t breathe

Couldn’t sing

Couldn’t smile

Couldn’t dream

You weren’t there

You disappeared

Vanished from sight

I should’ve known

Not to let myself hope

But I saw you

I could feel the hope spreading through my body

Seeping into my bones

Causing me to wish for such things I could never dream of before

But where were you?

I told myself not to go overboard

I told myself to take it as it comes

So is it my fault?

Did I hope for too much

Too soon?

I tried

And apparently failed

To express how I felt

And what I wanted

Not that you cared

All you wanted was freedom

Freedom from me

Freedom from whatever chains I unknowingly placed on you

Just know

That I never meant to

I knew we’d go our separate ways

Even though we were as close as could be

We’d be separated eventually

I just never thought

It’d happen this soon

Now that you’re gone

There’s a whole different kind of living for me

Breathing without lungs

Living without a heart

And that

Is only the beginning

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59696.83
ETH 2363.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55