Stringing Words | NaPoWriMo Day 7

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


source


Words
have been   slipping
 from  my    fingers
today.

I try to catch
them
and weave them
into lines of poetry
but the string
breaks

and the letters    bounce
              away,

pearls on marble floor,
scattering across the room.

I have to get on all fours
and run my fingers through dark corners and
the cracks
behind
doors.

Mostly, I meet dust,
but when I find one,
I wipe it clean and keep it
in a purse - velvet lined.

Some, I keep in the shell of my mouth,
gently laying them under the blanket
of my tongue

till they ooze flavours of
nectar and bee-sting

taste buds blossom and
I pick the flowers and
string them into a garland
that I tuck behind my ear

so I can hear the petals
whisper.

This is how
I am learning
to speak in flowers,

my own tongue.

________________

About the Poem

Today, I was losing words and lines, and mood and time. I felt like I couldn't write. Previously, I'd write poems in my head before I put them on paper. In the past week, I have tried to let myself write incomplete things and explore ways to create something with them. It has been a thrilling process, although most times challenging.

Today, I started with this feeling of losing words and inspiration. I pictured it and then followed the lost words to make meaning. And maybe it is not as thought out as my other writing, maybe not even as creative, but for me it is progress, because it means I can sit down to write without already bringing the poem or the words to the table, but let them come to me, wherever I am then; let them whisper in my ear and then create of, and with, them

Also, I'm clearly obsessed with flowers and blossoming, huh?

________________
Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

This is absolutely beautiful. How on earth do you manage to transform a loss of words into flowerwork?

You can see the words slipping and falling with each line, and oozing nectar towards the end. Very proud of you. Might commission you to make a copy of this for me.

Ahaha. Will gladly make a copy!
Glad it comes across and can be felt. Whenever I'm at a loss for words it's a very tangible feeling of losing or not being able to reach them. It happens so often, I should maybe make a series of loos-of-words poems, haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67073.12
ETH 3507.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18