Miss Aisha

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

PicsArt_12-24-12.38.40.jpg

They say she is the prettiest there has ever been
And I couldn't agree more with them.
Her name is Aisha the daughter of the Reverend,
She is beautiful, maybe more than I could describe with these words.
I can tell she knows this, cos she never seems to see enough of herself.
Every morning when she sits at the mirror, she falls in love with her eyes,
With her nose, with her teeth and with her smile. The make up takes forever.
I accused her of self worship but she corrected me and said it was self love.
Her parents treated her like an egg, they feared she would fall and break her shell
They didn't frown at her when she slapped her teacher,
they were more worried whether she had hurt her hand.
Aisha can't stand the boys, cos they are too crude for her.
They men are uncivilized to, so she rather waits for a Mr perfect.
Many years pass and Mr perfect never shows up, and she also doesn't grow any younger.
At last! all the suitors finally get scared away.

I talked with her yesterday, and I asked her if she would have preferred it another way
She smiled and said no, marriage is not a yardstick she insists.
But I can tell that she's isn't happy, cos she didn't paint her face this morning.
She didn't adjust her hair every other minute, she was rather calm and withdrawn.
Aisha was also strangely too nice, she even asked if I would come again.
I didn't promise, but I think might, cos I know she needs someone to talk to,
And I'm certain she is not happy being her FATHER'S BRIDE.

@originalworks
Photo credit. Pinterest

Sort:  

nyc one bro

Sweet. That touched me deep. Kamal very nice.

Thanks. Happy for that.

aunty this is now your house o

This is beautiful Kamal.. I've always trusted to have an interesting read with your pieces.

Glad you like it.

Uncle kamal, nice one!

Welcome, feel free to follow and upvote my post. @sirfreeman

Congratulations @kamalkennedy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62755.94
ETH 2446.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66