The River

in #poetry7 years ago

enchanted

I am a river....and I belong to you...

Scoop your hands into my flow and slake your thirst

But know this: you can never contain my immensity;

not in your jar, your glass, nor your hands...

And I will never belong to you

From oceans wide I am derived

Ceaseless and perpetual is my flow

And I have washed over men at their best and at their worst

Nothing can resist my turbulent tide, nothing can take a stand,

Harbours static and notions fixed I all eschew...

Til I was halted by one who wandered and wove and wended through channels deep as mine own

The bowels of the roaming Earth she had known...

the Stars drenched in Moonlight on her silken flow she had absorbed

There was not a height she had not touched with a moist caress, a gorge she had not smoothed with a kiss faint as dew

And so it was that her immensity and her restlessness that beckoned me

To release the separate one that I was, and discover the ONE that I could be

By first surrendering into you...

And the two that is the me in YOU

Sort:  

excellent poem.. I like it so much. congrats...

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43