Chintzy Prize Coffee Break

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

IMG_4235.JPG


An internal coffee break.

Step back. Look out of the loop.

Find myself falling forward. With an eye on the prize all the time.

While the grand prize is in my hands and before my eyes, and holding me all the time.

A coffee break to stare at the wall.

To lift these new beginnings into submissions.

The greatest composition of them all.

To submit to this young authors contest.

No. No.

Well, I'll send my piece in, but only after there's nothing left to lose,

and I despise their chintzy prize,

designed to make fake authors slobber,

and listless politicians speak well

of "the arts."


~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

@kafkanarchy84 - I usually find it difficult to relate to free form poetry but something about your composition made me take note. I really like the last lines which expose the false pretenses in the artsy world - the coterie of so called artists, politicians and socialites - all scratching each other's backs is sickening. Well said Sir. Upvoted.

Regards,
vm2904

Thank you. That means a lot.

Thanks for sharing.

Sounds...bitter.

You are creative all the time, you are always volutarist, the list less political leaders had been winning this prizes, but time is coming to reward the best. Thanks for sharing such a beautiful poem. Wish you a very good day friend.

Coffe good for mind mak you good
Good job
Nice post

Comparison of "chintzy price coffee "is so nicely presented friend... I like your thoughts ...Good day ahead!

Satirical..well expression..egerly waiting for more....

great work really like it!!

smart post @kafkanarchy84

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51