Love me

in #poetry6 years ago

In theme with my last post on Relationships and needy love, here's a poem I wrote about being insecure and sacrificing authenticity to maintain a relationship.

Love me

I wanted you
To love me for me
‘Cause wearing that mask
Was so tiring

Trying to please you
And trying to be
All that I thought
You wanted of me

‘Cause I was afraid
If I dropped the act
And showed my true self
That you’d turn your back

That you would leave me
And wouldn’t be there
To make me feel whole
And I couldn’t bear

To be without you
But it ended that way
‘Cause I couldn’t pretend
And keep playing that game

But now without you
I’ve learned that it’s me
I’m the one who
Needs to love me for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50