Corporate slave

in #poetry6 years ago

Reflecting on my experience working in the corporate world.


Corporate slave

This Matrix system of control
Forever keeps me on a roll
To produce, work and achieve
I’ve got not time to stop and be

I start to question, “Is this it?
Is there more to life than just this shit?
Just this grind day in, day out?”
It makes me want to scream and shout:

“I feel like a fucking slave! Like a rat trapped in a cage!”

And all I want is to escape
This life I live is such a waste
This wasn’t how it was meant to be
Oooooooh, how I long to be free.

Then eventually, I realise
The real prison is in my mind
That my beliefs keep me enslaved
And my lifeforce I give away…

Willingly. I give it over willingly!

Because I was taught it’s normal
It’s how life is meant to be
So I consent unconsciously
To be a cog in their machine

Like a vampire it sucks me dry
A human resource to be drained
And I consent to all of this
‘Cause it’s how I have been trained

But now I see the truth
That I really sold my soul
I traded freedom to be safe
Secure and comfortable

I betrayed myself
And who I’m meant to be
I am so much more than this
Please, someone help me to break free!


Image by Alex Kotliarskyi on Unsplash

Sort:  

The most advanced form of slavery involves the slaves willing consent.

The most advanced form
Of slavery involves the
Slaves willing consent.

                 - a1-shroom-spores


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Congratulations @kaelenwolf! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kaelenwolf! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48