Short poem: Superficial

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

mask-3014389_1280.jpg
Source

People wear a mask of lies so they'll look attractive , so be careful.
-Muhammad Saqib
Source
This quote inspired me to make this short poem.

All these friendly faces
Happy and concerned
Is that really you, inside your mask?
Or your just trying to put on a show, if I may ask?
Are you really shaking my hand
Or trying to stab me from behind?
Are you really praying for my safety?
Or waiting for me to be taken down quickly?
Are you really helping me to improve
Or just using me for your own good?
I have questions, I have questions for you.
This paper town has let me down so many times
Will you also leave me on my badtimes?
fake or real, do tell,
Tell me what you are so I could figure out what to feel
And how to deal, so please reveal.
Im tired of all the superficial
I hate the artificial
Is your mask made of metal or made of plastic? I don't know why but it seems realistic, maybe that's why I never doubted.
This time I'll choose more carefully
So I won't be tricked so easily.
Real is so rare
So do not be caught by the snare
Or else you'll be stuck in a nightmare
So learn how to compare
The real and the impostor.

A world filled with masks, its hard to find genuinity. It takes time and effort to find one real and genuine person out of thousands. But with the right choices we can and will find real "friends".
And once youve found some, keep em.

That's it!
Thank you for reading!
And I hope you guys liked it! 😁


I am very grateful to be a part of Steemit together with @surpassinggoogle.
He is very kind and very passionate
Please support him as our witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses . In the first search box, just type "steemgigs" and at the second search box just type "surpassinggoogle" as your proxy.>

Sort:  

We are living in the world of pretitions. But let not us be one of them.

This post has received a 0.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

So wonderful ..
I like this..

Hehe super thanks ate fran!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34