A Rare Gem

in #poetry7 years ago

Walking languidly along a trickling creek,
I turned to find a ledge formed from stone,
I stopped to contemplate an undesired fate,

My heart began to race,
I strolled closer to where my life could end,
I glanced upon the ground to search and prolong the last gasp,

'Twas a stone perfectly preserved,
It had a cluster of tiny pebbles almost covering,
Concealing a special element ripe for picking,

It was relaxing letting Nature take its course,
From the mighty mountains majesty,
Down along the soiled slopes,

Maybe it is destiny at its finest,
It delights my fancy to the core,
When I cower to Fear the unknown,

Its glimmer shone brightly in the Sun,
From that cold, hard rocky plate,
You could catch a flash at half a mile,

Few and far between they are found,
Quietly listening without shame,
An ignorant glance would miss it entirely,

My eyes are blinded by your flash of light,
Awe and amazement as soon as I could see,
The colours make it unique,

Stooping down to grasp it firmly from Giia's grip,
I turned away from the cliff to claim it for my own,
That rare gem saved my life.

@stitchybitch reached out and only said a few words but it was enough to keep me alive.

Thank you.

Sort:  

A good poetry, very inspired when I read.

I am so overwhelmed by this. I wish I had the correct words on my tongue or in my mind to properly respond.
The poem was gorgeous and so serene. You're extremely talented in that regard!
I am so glad that something I have said has effected you in SUCH a big way. And that you are still here today to write such amazing poetry.
Hold fast, Justin. And if you tumble, everyone is here to catch you. <3

this is beauriful!!! I love every bit of it. every line is well written. nice job(from one poet to another)

This post received a 15% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @stitchybitch from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @stitchybitch from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post received a 13% vote by @msp-lovebot courtesy of @stitchybitch from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77