service - a poem 🕊steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

when you have not been loved
your highest purpose
has little to do with service
your greatest gift to us
will be your laughter
finally full of delight.

-*-

Hello everyone!

This poem was written as a message to myself. In the past, I have often gotten caught up in doing good deeds to encourage a sense of worth or accomplishment. I thought this would fill me up. But in the last couple of years, I've slowly been learning that sometimes we want to think of ourselves as good people as a balm for the ego rather than for the sake of doing things that we think are good.

Instead of doing things that I think are good to do, I've been learning that I should do the things I want to do and the things that take good care of me. That makes my spirit feel centered and calm. When I feel centered and calm, I naturally do good things for others anyways. In fact, I think when I am in a centered and calm place, my understanding of what good things are is more nuanced and thoughtful. When I am always putting my effort outside myself to other things, I become small and stressed.

As I grow, I know that I will keep wanting to make beautiful things and that from a full and happy heart I'll want to share those things with others. No one is required to do good things, but I think many people would choose to regardless. And we can be more effective and grounded in that if we take good care of ourselves.

I hope you are having a lovely Friday!

xo
Ciel

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 7.21% upvote from us for your 1840 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

beautiful words .. I agree :)

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

You need to take care of yourself so your true beauty shines through and brightens those around you.

Nice poem. Short and to the point. Love it.

Thank you very much!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @justatouchfey!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.130 which ranks you at #3031 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 3030).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 201 contributions, your post is ranked at #116.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95