finally I can think - a poem

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

finally_essencewisdom.png

the quiet of the night
sets free all the words
that crumble under the harshness
and scorching of the sun

-*-

Have you ever noticed how much freer we can feel at night? Something about the darkness and quiet makes me feel wilder than daylight ever does.

In a way, this poem throws back to a previous one where I talked about these intense creative and emotional periods I would experience at night. This one is different in that it was written more recently and still honours that time, with a gentler feeling.

I think the blending of things in shadows naturally make us think more things are possible in the darkness of the night. There seems to be less boundaries between imagination and reality. When we are children (and even into our adulthood sometimes) it can be so easy to conjure things in the shadows. Is that a pile of clothes on the floor or something else waiting until all is still?

It can release our creativity too, a wildness in us that feels more free to roam without the bright light of the sun that can be too full of eyes and judgments. I write a little easier at night, allowing myself to imagine more impossible and poetic things than I might do in daylight.

A few years back, I was visiting the Caribbean with my mum. We traveled to the island she was born on and another island where we have a lot of family. On one of the nights we were having dinner at a restaurant by the beach and we could hear the waves splashing against the shore. It was so dark though that there didn't seem to be a boundary between the sky and the water. We could have been surrounded by water on all sides without knowing. I liked that feeling... the sense that the sky and water were blending into each other, so dark that it could be made of shadows and dreams.

xo
Ciel

Sort:  

Yeah, I know the feeling. I think a lot of my processes are affected by the time of the day too, oddly. Both words and arts. Night time seems to be more conducive to creativity, somehow....

It really does seem to be. Something in me lightens a bit when it's quieter and dark out.

Hi @justatouchfey!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.184 which ranks you at #2965 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 14 places in the last three days (old rank 2951).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 266 contributions, your post is ranked at #117.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Keep up the the mesmerizong words honey. #steem on!

Thank you! ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56