Of Love and Death

in #poetry7 years ago

Your memories had an aftertaste of codeine and old books.
They were cleverly masking the splinters festering beneath my fingernails.
Filling themselves out like false foods, bloating my dreams.
The story never delicately unfolded. Rather, it was launched at my face, unexpectedly one night, by a fat angel.
I felt the shovel hit before I saw it. It was cloaked in golden hair and white teeth.
As the images shattered and slivers of cotton and green glass sliced my minds eye, I was left with the type of clarity only a two day hangover can offer.
Not all birds can fly.
Not all doves are white.
And of all the monsters I've known,
Love is the most beautiful.

ATG

IMG_9910.PNG

Sort:  

Think I might have favorite quote of yours now: "And of all the monsters I've known,
Love is the most beautiful.
" Beautiful, absolutely breathtaking.

Thank you buddy. I really appreciate that. 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50