GSM LOVE, BY CHUKWUEMEKA, A.B.

in #poetry7 years ago

you will love this poem, and read it time and again!

images (7).jpg
Source

GSM LOVE is a poem that depicts the unfaithfulness of women who somuch after money (gold) in a relationship, especially in the The GSM evolution era in Nigeria and other climes, which makes it easier for these women to perpetuate their illicit acts.

For such women, the GSM evolution era was just the beginning of a golden opportunity to trade.
So much were they entangled by it that so many unimaginable things happened – so many of them abandoned their relationships; young girls got enlisted and lost their virginity woefully, and others were used for rituals.

But as time went by, a good number of them came to their senses, regrettably!
Yet, for others, it has remained a complicated web of fate from which extraction is impossible.

The poem is a phone conversation between two lovers whose relationship is on the verge of collapsing, but he man was bent on reviving it for the sake of our love

The woman speaks

You torture my ears,
Twenty four seven,
You blind my eyes,
In diverse ways;

You drive away my bed,
And murder my sleep;
You have become the mosquito
That keeps me awake
With kisses and hisses,
Tickling my ears numb!

What manner of love is this?
That you have stolen my peace?
Other men befriend the day,
You are the mate of the night.
In the beginning you were all right, Calling with the sunlight; Can’t you buy recharge card?

The man replies

Enough! Enough, baby, enough!.
Is it not your fault?
When you have become homeless, And baseless; having nor home nor house!

How did you store my name?
As a girl with a male voice!
You use my recharge cards
To call men of all kinds!

All I get is flash!
Twenty four seven flash!
Or call me back text,
Yet when I call-
It is not true what you say;

The woman replies

I do not lie to you!
I tell exactly where I am,
But you choose to disbelieve;
Other men accept,
What they are told,
But you think you are bold,
Accusing me of my abode-

images (6).jpg
Source

The man replies

There, there you go!
When you are with John,
You say it is Joan!
When you are in Lagos,
You say, dear, don’t worry,
I just enter Warri!

That is when you answer at all!
Otherwise, my call is either put on hold, Or simply enters voice mail!
But my pocket is on any key activation, Haba! Baby, Haba!

Lies, dear love, lies and more lies!
You choose to believe.
Even as you like to deceive,
Delete my number from your phone!

I will rather size the phone!
Because you have killed the fun;
Let love disappear from the air,
While I still have a life to repair!

That is your affair!
But, dear, it is not fair,
Let us recognise the rogue,
Because GSM is in vogue!

No truth can ever be told
While one is after the gold!
Well, well! The truth at last!
Call me at night-

Let us try to resolve
The direction of our Love:
Flash me if no credit,
I will call for our benefit!

Thanks for reading
DQmRKgYYp1TzWmvqtnfbMSLZQSgUXinUxqyHyd39HZ8j7gx.gif

Sort:  

This is great
Nice choice of words

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38