Don't Go Far Off

in #poetry6 years ago

Have I expressed my love and appreciation for his work? Pablo Neruda never fails to contaminate me with an immense amount of euphoric pain.

I have a problem!

I love with great intensity. Sculpting images of a day filled with passion, admiration, desire & devotion.

As abnormal as it may seem, I have learned much about love and loss through the words of Pablo Neruda; painting vivid pictures in my mind because not only do I consume his words but I also consume that moment in time he salvaged in writing and deposited the sense and wisdom into my heart and soul.

In his writing, everything becomes clear. Opening up my mind & soul to his pain and at times to his beautifully detailed encounter with love.

When reading some of his poems, a vision fills my eyes; a vision of him dancing with love. A silhouette covering a pain that will soon be left behind.

I hope you all grow to love his work just as much as I do if you aren't a fan already.

Don't Go Far Off by Pablo Neruda

Don't go far off, not even for a day, because --
because -- I don't know how to say it: a day is long
and I will be waiting for you, as in an empty station
when the trains are parked off somewhere else, asleep.

Don't leave me, even for an hour, because
then the little drops of anguish will all run together,
the smoke that roams looking for a home will drift
into me, choking my lost heart.

Oh, may your silhouette never dissolve on the beach;
may your eyelids never flutter into the empty distance.
Don't leave me for a second, my dearest,

because in that moment you'll have gone so far
I'll wander mazily over all the earth, asking,
Will you come back? Will you leave me here, dying?

https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/don-t-go-far-off/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74