Defeated By Love

in #poetry6 years ago

A poem by one of the old time greats... Rumi

The 13th-century Persian Sunni Muslim poet has once again enchanted me with his writing.

The passion he portrays in this poem and the elegance in his views on appreciating the moon screams love at a high frequency.

I love the way the sun feels on my skin, but the moon shines upon us while most of us lay asleep dancing with our dreams or trying to wake from a nightmare.

Either way it goes, the moon seems to be unappreciated at times so why not dedicate this post to those who love the moon and dedicate it to the moon itself.

Defeated By Love by Rumi

DEFEATED BY LOVE
The sky was lit
by the splendor of the moon
So powerful
I fell to the ground

Your love
has made me sure

I am ready to forsake
this worldly life
and surrender to the magnificence
of your Being

-Rumi

http://home.hiwaay.net/~krcool/Astro/moon/moonwords/moonpoems.htm

Sort:  

I have never read Rumi until this post. Now, being struck by it, I will have to go read up on more of his stuff.

I really like the various works of poetry and photos let me Resteem your best poems and photos.

I like this poem and hopes that you will also be share such a nice poem in future.

love.. letting go of your own happiness for the sake of your loved one's happiness ❤️❤️❤️

You said right, these words are really amazing and the great thing is poet here surrendering himself or want to surrender his life towards the beauty of moon and yes, the beauty of moon is indescribable sometimes and in my opinion every child from childhood heard the stories of moon and then grownup, so if anyone agrees or not but the moon have an great place in everyone's life. Thanks for introducing this poetry with us and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Unconditional love = to love someone without any expectation and if the love of your life is happy without you, you should still be happy... To love someone with all the weaknesses and flaws is rare...

Moon represents feminine energy which is creation.
Love is the most powerful, simply because it is the highest frequency. I love to love. :)

Namaste.

goooeyyy and romantic

Wow so deep! Thanks for sharing this wonderfull poet! It made my day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40