Across The Bay

in #poetry6 years ago

A poem that well describes the sentiments of appreciating the past.

There is a mystic beauty about this poem and a sense of time traveling that brings a wonderful taste to the past.

From my experience it seems like we try to escape a certain time in our lives and dive into a state of amnesia in order to fade it away.

Albeit, certain memories bring a euphoric sensibility to that minute in time when one looks back on things and appreciates the bitter sweet date.

Across The Bay gives me the sense that it is expressing something similar to it which makes me dwindle into it further. I hope you enjoy it, my friends.

Across The Bay By Donald Davie

A queer thing about those waters: there are no

Birds there, or hardly any.

I did not miss them, I do not remember

Missing them, or thinking it uncanny.

The beach so-called was a blinding splinter of limestone,

A quarry outraged by hulls.

We took pleasure in that: the emptiness, the hardness

Of the light, the silence, and the water’s stillness.

But this was the setting for one of our murderous scenes.

This hurt, and goes on hurting:

The venomous soft jelly, the undersides.

We could stand the world if it were hard all over.

http://www.poetryoutloud.org/poems-and-performance/poems/detail/54813

Sort:  

Beautiful poem! it made me feel emotional.

I could imagine what position Dolnad Davie was before pening down such a poem. We are all used to everything that we are not afriad of anything.

My thoughts of the past usually bring nostalgic feelings. Sometimes I wish I could re-live some of my past

The past brings me anxiety. It still makes me want to redo things and make me question what ifs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66