A Poem About Addiction

in #poetry7 years ago

In the recent years there has been a major outbreak of people overdosing on drugs, and those close to them go seeking for the drug that killed their loved one.

I can't tell you how many times while I was out driving and seen someone on a bench twitching or stuck in this trance where they seem to paralyzed. So many chasing a high to numb their feelings and give them a couple hours of escape, but so much damage is done within the first 10 minutes of injecting, smoking, or sniffing.

When I read this poem, I was instantly filled sadness. It was beautiful written and I feel it should be shared because on top of the issues that the people of today are facing, drugs are a big problem as well.

This poem is by an artist by the name of Shannon29

His life

Just one more hit he said.
To escape his reality was his plea.
Lost in the transition of life, having so many strikes to his head.
Bubbled up confusion, was it all just an illusion?
He thought to himself, this may be the death of me, but I don't care as I will make everyone aware.
Pain was the reason he always stayed the same, too much in his mind to feel any different.
The numbness and tingling had taken its toll, as he created another roll.
Angel dust and weed will succeed to what he needs, the pleasure and the pain was all the same.
As he watched his life go by, he couldn't help but lie to himself, about what was real, and what was a reaction to this chemical spill.
He wishes things weren't so complicated, and that he could be sane, instead of stuck in this mind frame.
He played life for what it's worth, but got the shity end on this big earth.

Written by shannonh29 (Tilted)
Published 19th December 2017

Sort:  

Amazing post thank you so much for sharing

Thats really cool! I actually also made a poem about addiction but in german and tried to translate it.... :-/ it's really annoying how the flow of the rhymes get lost in the translation.

I like especially the part about lying to himself... There is a lot of truth in it!

This is a wonderful poem.it is very funny how some people drown themselves in drugs and in alcohol in order to forget their pains and sorrow but what they don't know is that one's the intoxications of alcohol is over their problems will come looking for them.

Too sad💔💔

very nice blog amazing poetry

This is cool
Recently read about how these cases are encountered daily in the hospital

Touched my heart. I have anxiety disorder and somehow I can feel the pain, relate to it. loved it @joseph.

With the change in mass periods of massive overdose, high school-age children are already using the drugs, the young ones are already damaged, thanks for sharing. I am happy with the story of overdose, it could be an example for myself. @joseph(73)

Addiction can be a bitch
One moment your life is perfect
The next moment it's all pitch
I've seen brothers go from good friends to crack fiends.
One dealer on the block makes a small buck and
he also makes a child ill.
I've seen enough to know it's real, this stuff kills
And we lend a hand to put a stop to these weed leafs and white pills.
Loved your poem, it was great.
Dropped a few lines on addiction too. Hope you don't mind.
Following you, would love a follow back.
Thanks

I can relate to this so much becuase i used to suffer from an addiction. Well written poem. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59020.34
ETH 2514.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47