Strange fruits

in #poetry6 years ago

As the normal ritual i walked with mom to the plantation that beautiful morning, my mind wandered to the to the wonderful breakfast we had. She held my hands closely as walked down and i played with the bright gold leafs on the ground. Looking up at my favorite tree i found something fascinating and intriguing, my little mind tried to make sense of what i saw but i could not, i was puzzled as to how they hanged out. Unlike the regular they came in different shapes and sizes but most shockingly they had my color so i asked "mommy, mommy what are those, can i have one, i think i like those strange fruits". She looked at me closely and as shiver went down her spine, i saw my mom shaking and tears filled her eyes, i thought i had said something wrong, her voice broke, she held me closely and spoke softly to me her words up till this day remains and resounds in my head, serving as a beacon guiding me through life. She said :
Child, strange fruits indeed
misfits, outcasts and the rebels
the ones that refused to be conformed to the norm
the ones who dared to dream and be different
they refused to be stereotyped and labeled
they cared not for their own lives but fought for their cause
they believed in freedom and demanded it
they set the pace and we follow
with their ideals and vision they live on in us
THOSE MY DEAR ARE NOT STRANGE FRUITS
THOSE ARE FREE MEN

inspired by Billie Holiday - Strange fruits.

Sort:  

Nice one CJ, I'm so glad to see you here, I saw your link on FB, it's me Isabelle. I noticed you are new here, it's best adviced you make an introductory post about yourself, it is very helpful and important to do so. Do have a great time here on steemit!

Thanks so much dear,
It's been a while I was here, do you still post?

@joseph-chu, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Cool, thanks for sharing.

thanks alot@decayboy...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65885.06
ETH 3440.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65