Commodity of Your Soul | A Poem on Finding Worth in your Craft

in #poetry7 years ago

I used to think that silver platters
Were worth a gold's reward
But with each fumbling master
Are noble humble hearts

These masters rule and scold
Govern and protect they must
But the real heroes of the day
Are left to rot in the dust

For every sword, a blacksmith
For every crown, a jeweler
Every artisan should have his throne
If these are the makings of a ruler

Superficial wealth and shallow status
Are this world's greatest lies
Yet most still fall short
And seek to claim this filthy prize

True worth is not external
It's what's within that makes us whole
To practice your own talents
Is the true commodity of your soul


----


Commentary

I want to preach self awareness. I believe that it is important to know yourself and discover your craft. As @surpassinggoogle always says, *"Everyone has something to offer". I find truth in this maxim. We have innate potentials, undiscovered but purely worth the recognition.

Often times, we are left in our minds thinking so lowly of ourselves because of the abundance of great artists in the world. We see them on billboards, on television and in the trending section and we begin to think, "How will I ever compete with them?". This is a normal human experience. I am quite sure that those who are now at the top of the wheel spent their time at the bottom as well, thinking the same as you are. We are always deemed to see be insecure at times.

However, this should not be tolerated. If we continue to see ourselves as mere shadows casted upon by others, we will always remain 8n the dark. We need to find outlets of our troubled thoughts and channel these into something productive. We fail to see that worth is not defined by others but solely on our own perception of ourselves.

IMG_20180118_113201.JPG

Get to know yourself for you are your own art. You define your self, your define your worth

We can learn a thing from craftsmen, those who simply practice their arts. I believe it's vital to find worth within ourselves and not in any external rewards. It is when we practice what we love that really makes a difference in how we live. Through our art, we open ourselves to true joy and find peace within ourselves.


----


About Me

I aspire to preach on Self-Awareness and Mindfulness. I see the profit in capitalizing on your own talents, your assets, and what you have to give to others. The world is a dark and scary place and at the end of the day we can only depend on ourselves. I want to help people see their worth and to help them in the process.

This piece is an excerpt to my incoming post : Finding Worth in Your Self. Hope you guys will read it soon


----


Thanks for reading
-Aaron, @josejirafa

If you found this interesting, do consider upvoting or resteeming. Your thoughts always matter, so share your comments below. Have a Great Day!

Sort:  

The moment when people accept who they are, confidence blooms. And that’s the beginning of opening themselves to others not to mention sharing their crafts. Never compare yourself to others or else you’ll die being insecure. Appreciate other’s talent instead. ^^

I completely agree on this, Aaron. Many are so afraid to show their potentials because they are overshadowed by others, not thinking that they too came from being a neophite and an amateur.

I was suffering from Inferiority Complex when I was still a teenager. I knew myself could do a lot of things, but my fear hindered me.

Now, i am giving my all in everything I do. I hope we all are.

Its just sad how circumstances bring ua down usahay. But I hope people find it in themselves to always look inward and see their potential.

Kafeel sd ko na you are giving your time here the best shot that you can. Pero I know naa pajuy mapuga ana haha. Hope you continue to practice your art. Its really worth recognizing

hahaha. cge cge bai. salamat

another good poet spotted! this is a good piece @josejirafa. keep it up.

Thank you for your warm compliment @craigmeister

Lovely poem... We're all diamond in the rough. We all have our innate potential and we just need to polish it more and more. Having people around who can help you is a blessing. :)

Im glad you agree with me. Thanks ate 😊

You're always welcome.. :)

The poem is deep and meaningful. More than that, it reflects our value towards our craft. In this world of superficiality, one's true worth can be found deep inside us. I realized that true masters in their craft are those who never assert the value of their work to others. They find meaning in their work itself and not on the people who appreciates their work. It doesn't mean they're unappreciative. It simply means that their satisfaction is derived from the process and of their output. So even if no one appreciates their work, they will continue on what they are doing. And that for me, is the true meaning of self consciousness.

Great work Aaron! Continue to hone your talents. I knew you have a great potential in terms of writing.

Thanks kuya kim @ybanezkim26! You get my point exactly. I hope you continue to work on your art as well. I can already see your potential here.

For those who are always the wallflower in the crowd, the person who sits in the corner who feels inferior and alone. This initiative will greatly help others feel good about themselves. Glad you are starting this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67