The Sentinel steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


big wheel.jpg

The Sentinel

At the corner you pause, your eyes concerned
as you make up your own permissions.
The Big Wheel slowly, surely turns.
The child is gone with new ambitions.

Sprinting to honor my unending pledge
I dash through the neighbor’s yard,
crash low within the boxwood hedge -
eating dirt, I stand your guard.

You pedal distracted past the sentinel’s bed
dreaming of days you will roam.
Your purposed gaze on the road ahead,
at the sign you turn toward home.

My pounding heart shreds fear and pride.
I roll from my blind and rise to the race.
You find me waiting when you finish your ride.
I never once left my place.



Image

If you like writing - if you think you might like writing, you should think about checking out The Writers' Block. Follow us on our brand spankin' new account @thewritersblock to see what we're doing lately. Listen to our radio show where @anarcho-andrei reads a wonderfully dire little story by yours truly: @jonknight. Click below to join us!

Sort:  

Oh I love this! I can literally see this scene unfolding in my mind. And this line:
"The Big Wheel slowly, surely turns.
The child is gone with new ambitions"
Excellent life description, Jon!

Lovely, Jon. Just lovely.

Thank you @authorofthings! I couldn't decide if this describes a parent, or a dog. I decided it might be both!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81