SteemitPoetryContest #1 - Prisoners Of Our Own DevicessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

prisoner devices.jpg

Prisoners Of Our Own Devices

 
we restrain - lock away
behind a too familiar door
see our chains - come what may
our minds have so much to adore.

all so clean - what we're shown
trained to never think to question
smaller screen - it's our throne
stained with choices of oppression.

Who decides when it's time to flee?
We're prisoners if we choose to abide.
The mechanism slides, so easily.
Excuse me, while I step outside.



This is my entry in @terrycraft's Steemit Poetry Contest #1. The task: Write a poem of three quatrains on the subject "Freedom". For this I tried to write a song, with two stanzas and a refrain. I used multiple rhyming schemes in the stanzas, replaced with a novel scheme in the refrain. I hope you enjoy my attempt.

Thanks to the wonderful @sunravelme at the Poetry Workshop at The Writers' Block. If you write anything (and you do), you should check this place out! There's something there for every style of writing.
Image Credit

Sort:  

Love to see the final product! Great work!

Thanks! I enjoyed our discussion about it last night!

Deep and true words
We are willingly locked into the technology that was designed to aid us
But it ails us into addiction instead, great poem

By the way, There is a new Steemit Haiku Poem Contest: Make Haikus Great Again out
You should definitely enter in too
All Haiku fans are going to enter including me

Thanks! I'll be there.

You're welcome, that's good to hear. :) I just created my entry and posted it on my page, I shall share it soon onto the contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45