Homeless

in #poetry8 years ago


The ice cold wind numbs my skin,
No food or water so I will go thin,
When I'm desperate I'll even search in the bin,
Sitting amongst the litter and the empty rolling tin.

Kicked out of shelter it's just not fair,
Shouting harmful words without a care,
People walking past giving me a disturbing stare,
I hate my homeless life it's hard to bare.

I need just one chance,
Maybe for people to give me a second glance,
If they did I would dance,
I really want my life to advance.

I'm freezing cold and full of fury,
A lot of homeless stuff is pretty gory,
To be known and take some glory,
Even a homeless man has a story.

This poem was inspired by the many homeless I saw on a visit to London (the capital city of England). It really shocked me to have witnessed so many people in clear distress and made me want to raise awareness of this situation - the best way I know, through my poems.

Sort:  

It's a major problem in my town here in the US, It's gotten to the point where we have volunteer households and venues that take in homeless people during nights that are too cold.

What a wonderful idea! It would be great if that could happen over here in the U.K.

Giving to the homeless is one of my favourite ways to give, it's so direct!

I agree! Considering the state of the world at the moment I think the situation is going to get worse before hopefully it gets better. It needs people like us to spread the word about this issue and the good that we can all do .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61038.67
ETH 2626.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62